Apple Default Apps.

Discussion in 'iPad OS' started by MrLuke, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. MrLuke
    Offline

    MrLuke iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    287
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dorset, United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0
    I've tried searching ipf but couldn't find anything. So here's my question;
    Is there any way to hide any of the default apps like gamecenter, newsstand, etc.?
    Thanks in advance.
  2. thewitt
    Offline

    thewitt iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,631
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +70 / 0
    No... Put them on the last page
  3. MrLuke
    Offline

    MrLuke iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    287
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dorset, United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0
    So obvious yet I'd never have thought of that. Thanks very much :).
  4. newt0nsbump
    Offline

    newt0nsbump iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston TX
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Is there a way to move Newsstand into a subgroup?
  5. epb
    Offline

    epb iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    890
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0
    Apparently yes. I haven't done it, but the rumor is if you create a folder and move Newsstand into it immediately (within seconds) it will move into the folder. However, if you ever click on it, out it comes again.
  6. newt0nsbump
    Offline

    newt0nsbump iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston TX
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have a folder called R W where I have al my reading and writing apps. That's where I'm trying to put it . . . but it won't go!
  7. epb
    Offline

    epb iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    890
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0
    Apparently it has to be a newly created folder - it won't move to an existing one. I think you have to put it in before your iPad realizes what you're doing...
  8. thewitt
    Offline

    thewitt iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,631
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +70 / 0
    Newsstand is a folder. Nested folders are not supported. There is a big in iOS that allows you to trick it into creating nested folders until you activate something in that folder, then your device will either crash or the nesting will be undone.

    I would NOT recommend using this bug to try to hide Newsstand if you care about things like backups working properly. Doing something the file system does not support is asking for trouble...

    Now I don't know if there would be issues or not, but the fact that this bug can crash the device makes me very nervous as a developer.
  9. newt0nsbump
    Offline

    newt0nsbump iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston TX
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I took everything out of my R & W folder, recreated it and immediately put Newsstand in it, followed by everything else. Worked fine, but was not aware that using the app later might cause a crash. Since I never planned to use Newsstand in any case, this should not be a problem. Just in case, however, how do recover from a system crash? Thanks!
  10. thewitt
    Offline

    thewitt iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,631
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +70 / 0
    Since you are essentially corrupting the file system, be prepared to do a full restore from backup to a backup from BEFORE you corrupted your device. It's possible nothing else will actually completely restore your device.
  11. newt0nsbump
    Offline

    newt0nsbump iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston TX
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks! Do I correctly assume that the backup that was taken when I installed IOS5 will suffice? And, since my "mod" corrupted the file system, won't any backup taken subsequently either by me or by iTunes in another update or sync, be itself corrupted?

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

change default app ipad

,
default app ipad