What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A dumb GPS 4G iPad question?

iBozz

iPF Novice
Reaction score
I'm new to iPads, and indeed to this forum (I'll introduce myself on the relevant thread shortly), but I'm puzzled about the GPS capabilities of the new 4G (sorry, I meant 4G and not G4 as in the typo in the original post) iPads.

I live in the UK where there is, currently, no 4G and I do not yet have a SIM card to allow the iPad to connect to a 3G network so I get on-line via wifi, both at home and when out and about.

I read, on another thread on this forum, that the 4G iPad has a GPS capability built in from which I infer that it can be used as a SatNav in the same was as can my old Garmin i3(?) model.

Well, I was out of range of wifi this afternoon, and thus not attached to the interwebbything, so I decided to see what happened.

I opened the supplied Maps app and, when it opened, it showed the pin on my home which is where I had last logged on and opened that app.

After a while, (I may have tapped the Location arrow, I can't recall) it dropped a pin on the map which showed my then current location.

Or did it?

The pin certainly seemed to "move" but the app said that it couldn't load the map data (or somesuch, I didn't make a note of the precise wording) and I then appeared to be standing slap bang in the middle of some graph paper, with no map, topography or anything!

If it can act as a GPS device, then surely the maps should be preloaded as they are on my Garmin?

Have I overlooked a setting or preference?