3G indicator

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by hirschhs, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. hirschhs

    hirschhs iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Budapest / Beijing
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    As noted elsewhere, I have a pay as you go temp sim on my ipad 2 while I'm in transit. The 3G sign is present but quite often I'm getting a message which says that I'm not registered on a data service and so, can't get online. I'm guessing that this is a provider issue, not the ipad but before I steam into the local vodaphone shop, I thought I'd check that it isn't a known fault.:)
     
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    I notice that you're travelling. Is this a roaming problem? Many cellular service providers require you to explicitly register for roaming and, of course, you have to have turned that on in 'Settings'

    Tim
     
  3. hirschhs

    hirschhs iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Budapest / Beijing
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Tim, I bought the sim here in Hungary and will be changing it when I move on to China later this week so it's not a roaming issue. I guess I'll have to spend 2 hours waiting in line at the Vodaphone shop!
     
  4. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    Sorry to hear that!

    Good luck.

    Tim
     
  5. alliantce

    alliantce iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am having the same problem travelling within Europe. Specially outside of the UK.
     
  6. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    Are you roaming? Have you spoken to your service provider to enable roaming and have you enabled it in the iPad's 'Settings' menu?

    Tim
     
  7. hirschhs

    hirschhs iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Budapest / Beijing
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    are you also with vodaphone, as a matter of interest?
     
  8. K1W1

    K1W1 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    If it works the same way it does when I was in the USA a couple of weeks ago once you put the SIM into the iPad you then need to find a wifi connection (McDonalds if all else fails) and use wifii to get onto the SIM providers web site and register the card and maybe the plan. Once the card is registered you can then connect via 3G.

    The same basic procedure also applies here in Australia.
     
  9. ipadbraincell

    ipadbraincell iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    295
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Or buy alternative carriers chip?
     
  10. hirschhs

    hirschhs iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Budapest / Beijing
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    So I only had to wait 10 minutes in the local V shop before a nice lady fiddled with my settings and off we went. ;-) Apparently something had not been set up correctly but unfortunately, I have no idea what since she was a bit secretive about it all...
     
  11. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    Good to hear it's fixed now.

    Tim
     

Share This Page