What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Using a Verizon iPad2 w/ wifi in Haiti

kTwo

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Website
www.pagecrew.com
Hello, I am a new member and this is my first post. I am a teacher and filmmaker, mainly in challenged communities around the globe. I am deep in Apple gadgetry having just changed from a Blackberry to an iPhone4 and most recently purchasing a Verizon ipad2 3G + wifi which I intended to set up for some teachers here in Haiti. I may have made a big mistake buying the Verizon model (didn't specify, took only unit available at Apple store) and my research having trouble connecting led me to this forum. I landed in Port-au-Prince today and hoped to be able to connect via wifi with the ipad. I (now) know the limitations of CDMA vs GSM and kick myself for getting this instead of At&T. However, my intention was to leave this in a camp school I am helping so I wouldn't have paid for a 3G plan anyway and want to connect only via wifi. Can I do this? My MacBook Pro connects to the hotel's wifi effortlessly but not the ipad. What am I missing? It finds the hotel network in the Settings panel but when I put in the password it says "Unable to join the network" and I have to Dismiss. Ideas?

Karen

Tim SPRACKLEN

iPF Noob
Reaction score