What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Storying photos in Files, or in Photos.app?

Padcatt

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Sorry..meant to say, “Storing”

While I get - and have used - the benefits of the Photos app, I'm not wild about the management of my photos using Photos.app

I've begun to store photos by category in Files, and am contemplating the tedious task of moving photos which are "in" the Photos app to Files.

Before I do so, are there any pitfalls to doing this, any advantages I'd be leaving behind if I stop using Photos? I'm a professional designer, and have plenty of image-editing software, so that isn't a concern for me.

Thank you for any information and opinions on this.

Last edited:

LannyC

iPad Fan
Reaction score
I organize most of my photos--mainly scans of 35mm slides up to 50 years old--into folders on my Mac, and synch them to Photos on my iPad via iTunes. On the iTunes Synch settings, I can choose hard drive folders to synch by checking boxes.

This works well for organizing images by event, but getting the iPad to maintain the folders' order, or images' display order within a folder, is frustrating and unreliable. Somew apps appear to use last-modified date, others several flavors of alphabetizing.

As long as you have backup copies on your computer, you can afford to play with the Files app. But I have no experience doing what you propose.

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score