What's new
Apple iPad Forum

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Safari doesn't show search engine

paintman

iPF Noob
Joined
Sep 26, 2011
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Have an IPad 2. Google is selected as the search engine and all other settings appear to be as they should. My searches on this forum seem to help but when I open safari, google is not available. I can not see it. It was there at one time and now it is gone. Any ideas?
 

Mickey330

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
11,892
Reaction score
2,225
Location
Western NY state (USA)
Have an IPad 2. Google is selected as the search engine and all other settings appear to be as they should. My searches on this forum seem to help but when I open safari, google is not available. I can not see it. It was there at one time and now it is gone. Any ideas?

Here is a screen shot of my iPad opened in Safari.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1332180110.432788.jpg

I've got the arrow pointing to my search bar. As you can see, Google is set up as my default and so it shows "Google" there (I imagine it would show the name of any other search engine you may have set in the Settings app).

You aren't seeing that? If not, what is there? Oh, and sometimes, if you've used it (and haven't cleared out the cache), the word Google may not show. It's still the Google search bar, but the word may not be showing...

Marilyn
 
OP
P

paintman

iPF Noob
Joined
Sep 26, 2011
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Great to hear from you. The word "Google" shows on my bookmarks and that is what I have been using. I see what you have and perhaps that is what I should be using
G but having it in my bookmarks is very convenient.

Paintman
 

Mickey330

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
11,892
Reaction score
2,225
Location
Western NY state (USA)
Oh, I think I know what may have happened.

In the Settings app, for Safari, there is an option to select "Always Show Bookmarks Bar.". Could you have accidentally turned that off? If it's off, then you won't have the line of bookmarks across the top of Safari (right above the tab).

Is that what you mean?

Marilyn
 
OP
P

paintman

iPF Noob
Joined
Sep 26, 2011
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Sorry Mickey 330, the "always show bookmark bar" is on. I am using google in another way. Not as convenient but it works.
 

Lustyjocky

iPF Noob
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Nottingham
I have the same problem, one moment I'm using google as my search engine the next it's changed to bing,but unable to change it back ... Could do with some help please
 

Seadog

iPF Noob
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
2,522
Reaction score
52
Location
Oklahoma
Lets start with the basics. To select your search engine, you have to go to Settings/Safari/Search Engine and select the one you want. If Google does not show on the Safari Task Bar after you selected it, then there may be a software glitch. If so, it will default to Bing for the search engine. Also be aware that Google has gotten in trouble for sneaking past the Safari safeguards and downloading data about users without permission. They are under investigation for this, and may be making changes to the search engine to prevent this from happening.
 
Last edited:

Most reactions

Latest posts

Top