What's new
Apple iPad Forum

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Latest OS versions - discussions

Aerofly

iPF Novice
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
254
Reaction score
299
I have iPadOS 15.3 Public Beta on my iPad Pro M1 11”, and all was fine to start with, but I’m now experiencing random lockups which can occur at any time, seemingly in any app.

The only way I’ve found to release the lockup is to hit the power button a few times, and with luck it usually gets back to the Lock Screen. On a few occasions only a reset worked.

I’ve shut down all open apps from the app switcher to see if it’s one particular app causing the lockups, but it still does it with no other apps running.

So just wondering if anyone else has had similar before I send off a feedback report.
 

J. A.

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
22,210
Reaction score
15,202
Location
Apetlon, Austria
I have iPadOS 15.3 Public Beta on my iPad Pro M1 11”, and all was fine to start with, but I’m now experiencing random lockups which can occur at any time, seemingly in any app.

The only way I’ve found to release the lockup is to hit the power button a few times, and with luck it usually gets back to the Lock Screen. On a few occasions only a reset worked.

I’ve shut down all open apps from the app switcher to see if it’s one particular app causing the lockups, but it still does it with no other apps running.

So just wondering if anyone else has had similar before I send off a feedback report.
I‘m using the most recent Public Beta of iPadOS 15 on my iPad Pro (1st generation), and haven‘t faced any problems yet.
 

J. A.

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
22,210
Reaction score
15,202
Location
Apetlon, Austria
Today‘s updates:
iPadOS 14.7
macOS Big Sur 11.5 (bug fixes, security updates)
Security updates for macOS Catalina and Mojave

Information is up to date:
 

Aerofly

iPF Novice
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
254
Reaction score
299
Well I reckon I’ve discovered the reason for my lockups, and it had nothing to do with the latest operating system.

In fact it was my broadband provider who was intermittently dropping my connection, which resulted in any internet connected app I was using at the time ‘appearing’ to lock up.

Since checking with my provider and a reset of my router things have settled down

Good job I found this out before I sent in a feedback report.
 

scifan57

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
31,703
Reaction score
13,658
Location
Regina,Canada
Well I reckon I’ve discovered the reason for my lockups, and it had nothing to do with the latest operating system.

In fact it was my broadband provider who was intermittently dropping my connection, which resulted in any internet connected app I was using at the time ‘appearing’ to lock up.

Since checking with my provider and a reset of my router things have settled down

Good job I found this out before I sent in a feedback report.

It’s a good thing one of these lockups didn’t happen in the middle of an update.
 

Querty

iPF Noob
Joined
Aug 17, 2018
Messages
35
Reaction score
19
It’s a good thing one of these lockups didn’t happen in the middle of an update.
We get drops in the net here quite often I’ve wondered what would happen if it occurred mid update.
 

Aerofly

iPF Novice
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
254
Reaction score
299
If the break was whilst downloading the update then surely it would just carry on after the break was restored.

Not sure that the internet link is needed to prepare the download, but is it needed to verify it?
 

J. A.

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
22,210
Reaction score
15,202
Location
Apetlon, Austria
For the verification process, the iPad needs to be connected to Wi-Fi. I suppose it’s connecting to Apple’s servers to make sure the right software version has been downloaded and will be installed.
 

Most reactions

Latest posts

Top