What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

iPad Pro or MacBook Air

WalkDangIt

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm a freelance journalist. I cover many sporting events using my MacBook Air. The question: should I stick with MacBook Air or switch to the 12.8-inch iPad Pro with a Magic keyboard when it's time to buy something new? Durability is important.

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
You’ll probably be happiest with the MacBook Air.

The Air’s keyboard is better than the Magic Keyboard, or so I hear. Not a lot better, just better. I use the Smart Folio Keyboard with an older iPad Pro so I don’t have direct experience with the Magic Keyboard, but my MacBook Air’s keyboard is pretty good. It’s one of the new M1 models.

The iPad has a better camera, and it will work for both photos and vidoe in a pinch, but you probalby have an iPhone that will do a better job. Both iPadOS and MacOS have pretty good integration with the iPhone, though it is a bit easier to use with the iPad. For whatever reason Photos on the MacBook is slower to sync, and does not always behave as you would expect it when syncing with the iPhone. The biggest advantage i’ve found to the iPad’s camera is scanning documents. It is one less step over using the iPhone when you need to use them on the iPad.

Despite the MacBook Air’s camera being lower quality, it makes for a better video conference platform. The iPad’s camera is off center in landscape, making your outgoing video a bit awkward. You’re always looking off to the side from the other person’s view.