What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dropbox query

corvid22

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi Forum,

I am a total newbie to this forum and my shiny new ipad. I use dropbox and although I can open and work on dropbox files on my ipad, it will not let me save them in dropbox. The only save option is to the ipad, which defeats the object of dropbox. Any advice on how to get around this. I have done a quick search on the forum and cannot see that this issue has been dealt with anywhere. Thanks. Corvid

s2mikey

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Hi Forum,

I am a total newbie to this forum and my shiny new ipad. I use dropbox and although I can open and work on dropbox files on my ipad, it will not let me save them in dropbox. The only save option is to the ipad, which defeats the object of dropbox. Any advice on how to get around this. I have done a quick search on the forum and cannot see that this issue has been dealt with anywhere. Thanks. Corvid

Isn't dropbox used more as a syncing tool? Meaning, you specify certain files or folders on the device that sync with dropbox and then it happens automatically as long as you have an Internet connection? This is how it works on my laptop but that's windows based.

J. A.

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi Forum,

Hi, corvid! Welcome to iPF!

If you use the app, you should have the possibility to save files to Dropbox.

Open a file, tap "Open in"

image-220447715.jpg

If you don't get Dropbox as option at first, slide to the left. Perhaps it looks like this then:

image-2257818387.jpg

Tap "Dropbox". The app will open and give you the possibility to save the document to Dropbox (upper right corner).

image-1687930775.jpg

J. A.

Super Moderator