What's new
Apple iPad Forum

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Change user agent string?

Cheviot

iPF Noob
Joined
May 14, 2010
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
Location
Pennsylvania, USA
Is it possible to change mobile Safari's user agent string so it pretends to be normal Safari (for mac or windows) ?
 

Hasty

iPF Novice
Joined
Jun 2, 2010
Messages
2,266
Reaction score
22
Location
Location
So you can view the regular website rather than the mobile version.

With the iPad's big screen it's sometimes annoying to get the restricted version.
Makes drilling down harder.
 

CaptKirk

iPF Noob
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
636
Reaction score
1
Location
Sacramento
So you can view the regular website rather than the mobile version.

With the iPad's big screen it's sometimes annoying to get the restricted version.
Makes drilling down harder.

Ok... I'm trying to visualize this scenario :confused::confused:
 

Willpower101

iPF Noob
Joined
Nov 5, 2010
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
Nashville, tn
So you can view the regular website rather than the mobile version.

With the iPad's big screen it's sometimes annoying to get the restricted version.
Makes drilling down harder.

Ok... I'm trying to visualize this scenario :confused::confused:

Lol, /facepalm

This would be worth having for any site that forces the mobile version.

And so what you can change the user agent in atomic. You can't use the file downloader plugin, and you can't use frash.

Go over to Tacobell.com and try to view the normal site.
 

gentlefury

iPF Noob
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
2,615
Reaction score
7
So you can view the regular website rather than the mobile version.

With the iPad's big screen it's sometimes annoying to get the restricted version.
Makes drilling down harder.

Ok... I'm trying to visualize this scenario :confused::confused:

Lol, /facepalm

This would be worth having for any site that forces the mobile version.

And so what you can change the user agent in atomic. You can't use the file downloader plugin, and you can't use frash.

Go over to Tacobell.com and try to view the normal site.

Actually im pretty sure frash does work in Atomic.
 

Willpower101

iPF Noob
Joined
Nov 5, 2010
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
Nashville, tn
Ok... I'm trying to visualize this scenario :confused::confused:

Lol, /facepalm

This would be worth having for any site that forces the mobile version.

And so what you can change the user agent in atomic. You can't use the file downloader plugin, and you can't use frash.

Go over to Tacobell.com and try to view the normal site.

Actually im pretty sure frash does work in Atomic.

Whoops, looks like it does! Guess I'll be using atomic for just about everything now as long as it stops crashing.
 

Latest posts

Top