when 3G not available will Ipad use Edge?

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by quiltfanatic, Apr 5, 2010.

  1. quiltfanatic

    quiltfanatic
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Was wondering if you live in an area where 3G is spotty, if edge will provide you with service on the Ipad 3G?
     
  2. JohnnyApple

    JohnnyApple
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    830
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Good question, I would assume that it will degrade gracefully to Edge similar to an iPhone, but I'm not positive.
     
  3. Edlex

    Edlex
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm curious since it's just a data plan if the signal will be better than telephony+data plans. I heard edge is like dial up for data.
     
  4. Wolffmann34

    Wolffmann34
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Thanks Received:
    1
    That's being gracious.

    I consider 3G to be dial-up for data, Edge is very slow dial-up for data
     
    #4 Wolffmann34, Apr 5, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2010
  5. Edlex

    Edlex
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I stand corrected...
     
  6. Wolffmann34

    Wolffmann34
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Thanks Received:
    1
    On a more direct answer to your question, all 3G hardware will drop back to Edge (2G) when there is no 3G available.

    I use commercial modems for work and they are strictly Edge. At this point Edge is so slow that many applications time out before it can transmit the data.
     
  7. Edlex

    Edlex
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Thanks Received:
    0
    According to the AT&T signal map I'm in the strongest area but o guess I'll know the truth soon enough.
     
  8. JohnnyApple

    JohnnyApple
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    830
    Thanks Received:
    95
    You can get over 100kbps over Edge which isn't as bad as dialup (which maxxed out at 56kbps, but realistically couldn't go over 52kbps) -- There were a lot of Nexus One owners who could only use Edge since they used the Nexus One on AT&T. They got up to 300kbps sometimes.

    So, it's not quite dialup more like ISDN on Steroids :)
     
  9. Wolffmann34

    Wolffmann34
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So now, 'I' stand corrected.

    I guess the internet is just so media intensive now that having 100k feels like in the dial up days when you had a poor phone line and could only get a 14.4k connection.
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
can i run street smart edge on ipad
,
can i use edge on ipad
,
can street smart edge be used with ipad
,
does ipad use edge
,
edge en ipad
,

edge on ipad

,
how to use edge in ipad
,

how to use edge on ipad

,
on edge for ipad
,
what is edge on ipad