Weak wireless on ipad 2

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by D Roc, Apr 2, 2011.

1. D Roc

D Roc
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

Thanks Received:
    Has anyone else noticed that the iPad is not picking up wireless signal very well. I can have my iPhone 4, iPhone 3GS and iPad with me, and my iPad is the only one that can not find a connection in the area. I am new to iPads so this may be normal. What are your thoughts?

Sent from my iPad using iPF

2. madcapjim

madcapjim
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

Thanks Received:
    I've been satisfied for the most part with it. Much better than my iPod touch. It never holds a signal anywhere for long. Ipad2 has been better than I expected.

3. ipaduser434

ipaduser434
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

Thanks Received:
    I've no issues at home or hotspots, or places where friends have wireless. However, my office doesn't have wireless (I plan to fix that soon). I brought my netbook in one day and it picked up at least five or six networks in the area (a couple unsecured). My iPad 2 finds nothing.

4. D Roc

D Roc
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

Thanks Received:
    Maybe I should do e update. I never liked doing updates on my iPhones, because something all ways seems to go wrong. Maybe that will help.

5. Viper272

Viper272
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

Thanks Received:
    Weak wifi signal compared to ipad1

This was the first thing I noticed after turning on my ipad2 for the first time. It shows one bar less than my ipad1 everywhere in the house.

Both running iOS 4.3.1... So I guess they put in another wifi receiver than ipad1 has...

Right where I am now it only shows 1 bar, and here my ipad1 used to show 2 bars..

Knut

6. Tarkio

Tarkio
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

Thanks Received:
    As we found out from Apple during the iPhone4 "antenna-gate" episode, the bars are just graphics and can be set to anything the manufacturer wants. It really has little to do with actual reception.