Voice recognition creates text twice over RDP connection

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by tjesker, Aug 4, 2015.

  1. tjesker

    tjesker
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Using an IPad 3 to connect to a Windows 7 Pro desktop and text repeats each time using voice recognition to create text in Outlook or Word. It only creates text one time locally. Just happens over RDP.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. trireme

    trireme
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Have you got any more information? It's interesting... I use ordinary in-phone (iPhone6) text recognition a lot but haven't chained it through to anything.
     
  3. tjesker

    tjesker
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No replies other than yours so far. May try another forum.
     
  4. tjesker

    tjesker
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Got the answer via SpiceWorks forum. The user had Dragon running on his PC so his dictation was getting transcribed a second time by Dragon. I suggested he try only using Dragon over RDP.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • List
  5. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend II

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    20,450
    Thanks Received:
    6,164
    That makes sense, though I'm surprised that the RDP app the user was using actually sent the iPad's microphone output to the remote computer. I wasn't aware of any that did that. On the other hand I rarely use remote computer apps, and I've never tried it with dictation.
     

Share This Page