VMware question

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by VaibhavRohan, Nov 4, 2011.

  1. VaibhavRohan

    VaibhavRohan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont,CA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi all,
    I have vmware on my pc and i just installed windows 8! I was just wandering the app store when i saw this vmware view App. I downloaded it but I don't know what to enter in the ip or hostname field. Or is there another way to stream the virtual machine from my computer to my iPad??
    Cheers
     
  2. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    I dont think you can use it to view workstation or fusion desktops. The view application needs to connect to a "VMWare View Connection Server" which is a component of the Enterprise solutions, like ESX server.

    If you want to connect to a virtual machine on your desktop / laptop, why not just use a remote desktop / VNC client? That works well for me...
     
  3. VaibhavRohan

    VaibhavRohan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont,CA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    it doesnt work very smooth through the remote desktop. i expect the vmware app to work much smoother. Am i right?
    Cheers
     
  4. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    VMware app will do the same thing that a VNC app will do. So same deal in terms of lag and colors.
     
  5. VaibhavRohan

    VaibhavRohan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont,CA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    O ok thanks then i will use vnc. Srry for the late reply. :p
    Cheers
     
Similar Threads
  1. bcushman
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    6,701
  2. Moondog
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    1,671
  3. Gregjr1971
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    769
  4. elektrobank
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,475
  5. bigb0ss
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,820
Loading...

Share This Page