Using iPad3 in another country

Discussion in 'iPad 3 Forum' started by packard10, Apr 1, 2012.

  1. packard10
    Offline

    packard10 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hey guys. I just ordered the new iPad from the states, but I'm currently living in south Korea. I've found a little about this, but what I found doesn't answer my question. I ordered the wifi only iPad thinking I can just use my iPad with my iPhone hotspot and because obviously I wouldn't be in the states to use it with one our carriers there. I plan to come back to the states eventually though, so any thoughts on this? Should I change my order and spring form the 4g? Keep in mind iPad 3 doesn't even come out here for 4 months, and it's about 300 bucks to register with an Asian market. I've been told I could always take it to a store and have them change it internally to a 4g one when I return. Is this true?
     
  2. KevinJS
    Offline

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,261
    Thanks Received:
    763
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +865 / 0
    As far as I'm aware, what you buy is what you are stuck with. There is no way to upgrade a wifi only iPad to a 3G/4G model, so yes, if you figure you'll need it, change your order.
     
  3. packard10
    Offline

    packard10 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    If i purchase the 4g one, can I just turn off the data? Or just not purchase a package from a carrier in the states, to avoid roaming charges.
     
  4. Lunar
    Offline

    Lunar Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes you can turn the 3/4g data off, and also prevent any roaming charges. Mine is pernanently disabled until such time I need it.
     
  5. Texas Holders
    Offline

    Texas Holders iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Are you saying it costs $300 to get a sim card in Korea?
     
  6. packard10
    Offline

    packard10 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm not sure. The prison just said to register it with a carrier over here it's 300. Nothing else..
     
  7. packard10
    Offline

    packard10 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ugh. My iPhone autocorrected person to prison... Not sure why. I was writing this with not a lot of time.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can ipad 3 be used in foreign countries?
,

how to change country on ipad 3

,

how to change country on ipad3

,
how to change ipad country of use
,
using an ipad in another country