Usa to ireland

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by ste2911, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. ste2911
    Offline

    ste2911 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi guys

    Am traveling to USA later this year and want to no if I buy an iPad over there(wifi only)will it work here in Ireland updates etc etc?
  2. TheRambler
    Offline

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    I don't see a problem with updates, but Americas electricity is different to uk's.....there's is 110v and we are 240v
    This would create problems, the plug socket will be different also.
  3. ste2911
    Offline

    ste2911 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    When u say problems?! Sorry im new to iPad stuff
  4. TheRambler
    Offline

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    Well they work on a lower power source than us, half the voltage, so just changing the plug to a 3 pin 240v one would burn out the transformer.
    Does this make sense?
  5. TheRambler
    Offline

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
  6. ste2911
    Offline

    ste2911 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No sorry! So u mean changing the having the proper plug would still be no good
  7. TheRambler
    Offline

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    That's exactly it Ste, by just changing the plug, you would create a meltdown within the transformer.
  8. ste2911
    Offline

    ste2911 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Damn!! There so much cheaper over there! Is there any alternative?
  9. TheRambler
    Offline

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    Check out how much a replacement uk transformer for the iPad is, see if it is still the cheaper option once you've bought it, it may still save you a few pounds
  10. TheRambler
    Offline

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    Changing the lead wouldn't work, from what I have just googled, the power transformer is within the iPad, sorry.
  11. TheRambler
    Offline

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
  12. ste2911
    Offline

    ste2911 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok thanks very much for ur help!
  13. TheRambler
    Offline

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    I've just read the above link, some interesting stuff on there, certainly food for thought!!
  14. ste2911
    Offline

    ste2911 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ya had a quick look over it seems good thanks
  15. giradman
    Offline

    giradman iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,572
    Thanks Received:
    900
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +978 / 0
    Hello Ste2911 - believe that The Rambler has provided you w/ much information and a number of detailed links about the issues involved w/ charging the iPad; just in summary there are 3 main issues:

    1. The standard 'American' 110v charger is 10W, lower power 'rip offs' are offered but be careful in your choices - you need the right power for effective charging.

    2. 110v vs. 220v - in Ireland your power supply from the wall is 220v - some type of transformer adapter is needed to down the voltage to 110v.

    3. Wall plugs - as you likely already know, these will vary; a wall plug adapter may just be that, i.e. does not also down the voltage; of course, universal adapters that include both choosing different voltages and offering different plug-in adapters are available.

    Just do some searching around - there are plenty of different options of solve this issue; just not a major problem to solve but you obviously need to understand the principles - good luck! :)

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

charging american ipad in ireland

,

charging american ipad in ireland adapter?

,

charing maerica ipad in ireland

,

how do you charge an american ipad in ireland