US AT&T Carrier - iPad association

Discussion in 'iPad Carriers' started by slothead, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. slothead
    Offline

    slothead iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    I have an i1 and an i2 and both are connected (as far as I can tell) to one AT&T account. To me that seems odd, but when I get account details in the settings page, they both show the same phone number. If that is in fact the case, do they both share my 2GB of data/month? (And by the way it describes those 2GB as "domestic" - meaning US I assume, so there is no way I can use that data rate anywhere in the UK, right?)

    Thanks,
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    'Settings', 'General', 'About', 'Cellular Data Number' - do both your iPads show the same number there?

    For sure, the AT&T allowance is US domestic only!!

    Tim
  3. slothead
    Offline

    slothead iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Tim, I thought they did, because I saw the same number on the account information page. But when I look at the path you specified, the i1 says "unknown" (the i2 has the original phone number).

    I tested them out in the "wilds" today (on the highway far from any wifi), and both connected just fine, so it would appear that they are running on the same account.
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2011
  4. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    'Unknown' is definitely a new one on me!! I can't see how that can happen. Each SIM card has to have its own number - it says so in the GSM specs!! Let me know if you find out any more about this - I'm truly intrigued.

    Tim

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

att cellular phone number unknown ipad

,

ipad air cellular data number unknown

,

ipad cellular data number says unknown

,

ipad shows at&t as carrier

,

us at&t carrier number