Transfer info needed

Discussion in 'iPad 1 Forum' started by TammysPad, Mar 8, 2012.

  1. TammysPad
    Offline

    TammysPad iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio,Texas
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Hello there, I'm thinking about jumping from my iPad 1 and buying a iPad 3. How or will I be able to transfer all my info to 3 from 1 easy? Thanks I hope this is a logic question. Thanks. Tammy
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +747 / 0
    Sync your current iPad then connect your new iPad to the PC/Mac and iTunes will give you the option of restoring from the existing backup, choose this option. Your new iPad will be exactly the same as your old one.

    The Archangel
    • Like Like x 1
  3. TammysPad
    Offline

    TammysPad iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio,Texas
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Thanks a bunch. Always need great words. Can't wait to try it!
    Tammy
  4. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +747 / 0
    No problem, I did this when I upgraded from iPad 1 to 2........once done I then changed the name of my new iPad in iTunes so that I could have them set up independently.

    The Archangel
  5. jbcn
    Offline

    jbcn iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kingston WA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Just what I needed to know....may I add a twist of my own? I have a neighbor that would like to buy our old IPAD 1 when we buy our IPAD 3....they have no computer. Is it possible for them to use the IPAD after I transfer my apps and add their own apps without a pc or MAC. They don't own a home computer at all. Will they have to buy a computer to synch ITunes with or can they operate without one?
  6. KevinJS
    Offline

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,266
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +864 / 0
    Just restore it to factory settings, dump the latest OS on it, and they'll be able to do future updates OTA, and will not need a computer. Backups can be into the cloud so that won't be a problem either. They'll be limited without iTunes, but if they don't have a computer they won't be ripping CDs anyway.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
    • Like Like x 1
  7. jbcn
    Offline

    jbcn iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kingston WA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks so much for that reply....my neighbors are seniors not computer savvy and do not wish to learn nor manage a full sized computer system at home. They are almost always on travel. All they want to do is look for restaurants and Hotels on Trip Adviser, search for help /information on the internet periodically, and send/receive email. APPS and IPAD are so perfect for Seniors who have never been on a computer...large enough for older eyes to see, and simple enough not to have to learn much "computerese." Life is good, and Steve Jobs was a genius!

Share This Page