tethering question

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by jmorton10, Apr 9, 2011.

  1. jmorton10

    jmorton10 iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I have a rooted DroidX phone with the free wireless tether app installed & working.

    I can tether my Windows 7 Pro laptop to it whenever I want & it works super.

    I have a 64 gig Verizon 3G/WiFi Ipad 2 coming from Apple (if they ever get off their a** & actually ship the damn thing). Will I be able to tether the ipad to the phone the same way I do with the laptop??

    I know my Daughter's ipod touch tethers just fine & I am thinking the ipad should work the same way??

    I am a computer tech/network administrator but have very little experience with Macs.

    ~John
     
  2. LolaAM

    LolaAM iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes, you will be able to. Why get the 3G iPad if you can just tether from your phone?
     
  3. jmorton10

    jmorton10 iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0

    Just in case I ever need it, it didn't really up the price all that much.

    ~John
     
  4. deftdrummer

    deftdrummer iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    deftdrummer@gmail.com
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I used the Droid X rooted and free wifi tethering up until a few days ago just fine. It works great and I like not having to turn off wifi in the settings all the time. I only stopped because my DX took a dump the other day so I now have an iPhone 4 coming. :)
     
  5. jmorton10

    jmorton10 iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    WOW, I can't even imagine going from the big screen of the DX to the smaller Iphone screen at this point (& my business pays for my phones, I could have an iphone for free if I wanted it).

    ~John
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2011
  6. Rudinater

    Rudinater iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Homeless
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    No kidding, there is no way I would replace my HTC Evo with a Iphone.

    Also can a Iphone even be jailbroken to turn on the Hotspot function for free?
     
  7. wclyffe

    wclyffe iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes.
     
  8. dabears

    dabears iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    But what if somehow something goes wrong with your phone? If you don't have wifi nearby, you can always turn on your 3G iPad without contract.
     
  9. deftdrummer

    deftdrummer iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    deftdrummer@gmail.com
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Well the screen size was ok, but to get the battery life I needed out of the phone the extended battery turned it into an unworldly beast of a device in my pocket. That and I am turned off from Android. For the record I am going the legit route with tethering on the phone, though I know you can jailbreak and get free wifi.
     
  10. willywonka

    willywonka iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I expect my IPAD 2(wifi only) this week. I am however not a big fan of cell phones(use a prepaid Verizon). If I want to use tethering in a remote location, can I use any brand of cell phone with or without a data plan. Can I use previous Iphone3. Basically, what do I need to do. Thanks
     
  11. briankeith513

    briankeith513 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    This is exactly what I did....went from the Droid X to the Viphone 4. Yes, the screen size difference is drastic, and makes me miss that 4.3 in DX screen, but overall, IPhone 4 is just better than all Android phones that I've ever used or seen.


    Sent from my iPad 2 using Tapatalk
     
  12. Breitling65

    Breitling65 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Throw this droid to the garbage and get iPhone 
     
  13. Thirty

    Thirty iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes that's sound advice.
     
  14. jmorton10

    jmorton10 iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Not to me it's not. We have both iphones & droids where I work in our corporate accounts.

    I am the admin for all of them & can have any phone I want for free. There is absolutely NO WAY I would swap my rooted highly customized DroidX for any iphone although I am looking forward to the ipad 2.

    I'm not trying to slam the iphone by the way, I like the iphone a lot but I definitely like my X better.

    ~John
     
  15. deftdrummer

    deftdrummer iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    deftdrummer@gmail.com
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    As they say; some like the mother, some like the daughter.
     

Share This Page