System Time with New OS

Discussion in 'iPad OS' started by Hawkmech, Nov 23, 2010.

  1. Hawkmech
    Offline

    Hawkmech iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have the wifi only ipad. Mine gains a few seconds on the clock a day so I have to manually adjust the clock every week.
    I had assumed that the new OS update would have some sort of a time sync with an internet time server to keep the ipad time more accurate.
    I dont see any change so I guess Apple decided to ignore that problem although a lot of people are complaining about it.

    Too bad they wont let an app do that. I would gladly pay for that app.
  2. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Ummm, are you sure the clock you are judging it against aren't wrong? Mine matches my 2 computers, my phones, my microwave, my AC, my oven, my car, and every clock I encounter along the way...

    I'm pretty sure the clock and calendar are synced when you plug it in...so if it gets off 2 mins everytime you plug it in I would check your computer to see if thats the reason.
  3. Hawkmech
    Offline

    Hawkmech iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I dont sync mine with the computer that often, I can go months without syncing
  4. PCUK
    Offline

    PCUK iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Devon, England
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Doesn't it pick up the time off the internet?
  5. Dannyboy85
    Offline

    Dannyboy85 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    646
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    You need to go to settings>general>time/date>then slide the slider "set automatically" to on.
  6. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    It def gets it from somewhere, since I've never set it.

    I think it gets it when you sync tho..because I remember I had an issue with my comps system time never staying set (battery issue or something) and my iPod Touch used to go out of time all the time as a result.
  7. Hawkmech
    Offline

    Hawkmech iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I think only the 3g ipads update the time automatically

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
internet time synchronization ipad
,
ipad time internet sync
,
new os system no wifi ipad
,

sync ipad time with internet

,
time system ipad