Stacking routers

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by blucente, Jul 30, 2011.

  1. blucente

    blucente
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    372
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Folks I have a question;
    I recently upgraded my home router to a net gear N, nothing was wrong with the old linksys it was just time to upgrade. Can I use two routers in my home? I'd like to move the old router to another room where I have a new flatscreen tv with Internet capability, I dont have a hardwired ethernet run to that room.
    In a nutshell, I want to use the second router for wireless connectivity for my new tv

    Thanks

    5.0
     
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    122
    So you want to link, by WiFi, the new Netgear N to the old Linksys and then from that Linksys to your TV and be able to access the Internet from your TV via the Linksys-Netgear 'link'?

    Tim
     
  3. blucente

    blucente
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    372
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Exactly

    5.0
     
  4. KJSmitty

    KJSmitty
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Typically you would need the old router wired to your new - making the old basically an extended wireless access point. But, without an Ethernet run to that room it's not much good to you. They do make devices that utilize the wiring in your home, through the plugins, to facilitate getting Ethernet where you need it. That might be an option for ya. Then you could plug directly into the TV.

    To use your old router in that room you would also need another phone/DSL modem or cable modem. And then I would doubt you could log on to your service provider with both... But I have no confirmation on that - never tried it etc.

    Can you get to any attic space between new router and this room?

    I don't think a wireless connection between old and new will work unless your ould router was specifically designed for that type of an access point / wireless extender.
    Cheers
     
  5. blucente

    blucente
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    372
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hmmm, thanks for the input.

    It would be a huge undertaking to get a wired cable to the TV. The location of the tv is on the second floor in the bedroom and my new router is on the main floor (1st floor). I know I can purchase a wireless flash device for the tv but they want 80 to 100 bucks for it.

    I do have an option, I think. I planned on moving my xbox to that room also, it has wireless. Would this work and give my tv wireless access through the xbox. And yes, I have the xbox with wireless built in.

    5.0
     
  6. bearswatchin

    bearswatchin
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    repeater

    I use a WRT54G as a repeater after reflashing it with dd-wrt. Works with the G protocol but not with N since the WRT54 is G only. Extended my wifi so that I have full access all over my house and in my outbuildings. Security is good with dd-wrt, also, since it uses any of the common security protocols.

    Googleing dd-wrt will give you all the info you may need to set this up. For the repeater setup, google dd-wrt repeater.

    Hope this helps.
    bw
     
  7. blucente

    blucente
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    372
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks i'll check it out

    5.0
     
  8. chevyguy

    chevyguy
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Buy a wireless printer router as a receiver for you wireless router and hook the printer router to your tv. I use this same set up for my xbox 360, paid $15 for the wireless printer router and use it as my wireless receiver for the xbox360 and it works like a champ. Just an idea for ya.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
     
  9. blucente

    blucente
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    372
    Thanks Received:
    2
    That's a great idea, where were you two days ago, I just finished running a wire to my TV! Oh well, at least I learned a new trick to pass on.

    Thanks for the reply.

    5.0
     
  10. chevyguy

    chevyguy
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Thanks Received:
    3
    You're most welcome. Was hoping you hadn't run wire yet. Bummer man, but yeah it's a neat little trick you can use in the future.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page

stacking routers