Redsn0w rc9 from rc8??

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by gray_mouse, Apr 6, 2011.

  1. gray_mouse
    Offline

    gray_mouse iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sochi, Russia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hola. I have redsnow rc8 tethered, and now redsnow rc9 untethered is out. How to upgrade??

    Do I just do rc9 and keep all my apps and settings?

    Or

    Do I restore to stock apple fw and jb it to rc9?
  2. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,196
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Just install the untethered with redsn0w rc9 on top. There is no need to go back to stock firmware, if you are already on iOS 4.3.1. It should also keep all Cydia apps.
  3. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    beat me to it by seconds!
    Yeah, what he said! :D
  4. gray_mouse
    Offline

    gray_mouse iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sochi, Russia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Oh, that's awesome!!

    Doing it tomorrow, will report.

    My laptop is close to be left at home while I'm at work, just have to install hundred or so more apps. People just don't understand how freeing is iPad! For example today I found a new road and saved myself an hour in traffic.
  5. gray_mouse
    Offline

    gray_mouse iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sochi, Russia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Wait...

    Do I check the Install Cydia option??
  6. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    Yes, that's it.
  7. gray_mouse
    Offline

    gray_mouse iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sochi, Russia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That's it, done it. Takes 2 minutes. Everything boots up on it's own. Now I have a fully functional iPad.
  8. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    Congratulations, hope you enjoy your new found freedom. If you run into any problems, post a thread and we'll see if we can help!
  9. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    So ~ it was that easy? How long did it take you?
  10. gray_mouse
    Offline

    gray_mouse iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sochi, Russia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Connect iPad to PC, 5 seconds
    Turn off iPad, 10 seconds
    Put iPad into DFU mode, 40 seconds
    Do jailbreak 1 minute
    Boot up, like 15 seconds
    Reboot and make sure it boots by itself, another 30 seconds
  11. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Wow. Thanks for sharing!
  12. gray_mouse
    Offline

    gray_mouse iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sochi, Russia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Doing this took out openSSH, I had to install it again. What else was uninstalled? I'm afraid Im going to restore to 4.3.1 and do a clean jb.
  13. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    Nothing should have been removed? Sometimes I've had OpenSSH play up and had to reinstall but if it was there to start with it should still have been there...
  14. gray_mouse
    Offline

    gray_mouse iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sochi, Russia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Winterboard is installed, but Cydia doesn't show it in installed. I go to iPad options and winterboard is there. This is not what I call quality.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

apple rc9