Question about backgrounder + ipod

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by DarkLordEnron, Aug 5, 2010.

  1. DarkLordEnron
    Offline

    DarkLordEnron iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Does anyone else's iPod constantly stay enabled as a background process using backgrounder+circuitous? Mine seems toncome up as active when i sleep the ipad for awhile and come back to it later.

    Also, why does safari use so much memory!? Jesus, might have to switch browsers!
  2. DarkLordEnron
    Offline

    DarkLordEnron iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Actually, I just realized I could simply set a rule for that particular app, so no worries. It is curious however why iPod would stay statically enabled. I can understand Facebook or mail, but iPod?
  3. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    #1 im not sure exactly what your talking about.

    #2 putting the ipad to sleep doesn't stop everything, putting the ipad to sleep is like turning the screen off. everything on the ipad keeps running while in sleep mode.
  4. DarkLordEnron
    Offline

    DarkLordEnron iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok, let me elaborate.

    Say you open safari and some kind of Internet radio apps. You're now backgrounding both apps. You decide to go do something else and manually close both apps by bringing up backgrounder's dock and exiting each one. That leaves you with only the springboard as being enabled, saving some memory consumption an ultimately, battery life. You sleep iPad. Coming back to it about an hour later you bring up the backgrounding dock again only to find iPod is now backgrounding when you know for a fact you never enabled iPod at all before sleeping it.. Does that make sense? I felt like that was extremely long. :)
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2010
  5. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    ipod is one of the apps that runs in background on its own. Apple made ipod app to run in the background. when you do the doubleclick home to bring up ipod controls, that is because ipod is always running in the background.


    now you can close ipod from running in the background, however it will soon come back.
  6. DarkLordEnron
    Offline

    DarkLordEnron iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That's exactly what I wanted to confirm, thank you.
  7. john_hc09
    Offline

    john_hc09 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Backgrounder on iPad 3.2.1

    DarkLordEnron, are you asking about backgrounder for IPOD or IPAD? In any case, is backgrounder tested on IPAD 3.2.1 (I plan to jailbreak with JailbreakMe 2.0). I have read a few failure stories for backgrounder on IPAD 3.2.1.

    Example from Crispytech , 1 week ago.

    " .... Then, you have no choice but to restore it:(
    P.S. It happened to me too when I installed Backgrounder. I think there's something wrong with the app right now."
  8. DarkLordEnron
    Offline

    DarkLordEnron iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Works fine! There are glitches with some apps but nothing too serious. You can always set rules to circumvent specific apps from using backgrounder to function. You don't need to restore if something goes wrong. Simply uninstall the package.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

ipad sleep background process