'posted from mobile X minutes ago.... How?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by Shylock, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. Shylock

    Shylock iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Ok....Here's a question for folks. First off just got my ipad like 3 days ago. I like everyone, else go on facebook, and when I used to post, from a mobile device, it used to say "posted from mobile" had a little phone next to it, was cute/etc....and you know I sorta liked that.....now I'm using safari, and it doesn;t I used the ipad app and it doesn't...I want it too though.....darnit I paid multiple hundreds of bucks for this, and I want people to know I'm using it.....plus I want to learn the ins and out of such things...
    I also have a samsun galaxy tab, and I have to say, I like it a lot....I could load so much onto that thing, and the ipad just seems to want to not let me (Part of the reason I'm part of this forum to learn such ways.) and I could change the UA np....is that what I need to do with the ipad? if so, hows the best way to go about it?
     
  2. britpoper

    britpoper iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jakarta
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Kekeke, so the reason you bought an iPad is so that everyone know you're using it rather than its function???
    Sorry for my judgmental comment above, back to the topic.
    I didn't use facebook much now, so I can't say for sure. I did test post a new status once using facebook application on my iPad2 before, and I'm pretty sure it says posted via iPad.
    I did recheck again just now to see the status using safari on my macbook, but now the status just said post via mobile. Twitter still works though (said it posted via twitter for iPad).
    I can't check again now to make sure since I left both my iPads at home today.

    P.S : I think you need to post using the applications (twitter for iPad, facebook for iPad, etc)-not safari/browser; to got that kind of message.
     
  3. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +431 / 0
    "darnit I paid multiple hundreds of bucks for this, and I want people to know I'm using it"

    Really? Why? Frankly, I don't think anyone cares what you're using, friend. Flauting that you own apple products usually gets you snickered at.
     
  4. Kaykaykay

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,971
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +443 / 0
    "darnit I paid multiple hundreds of bucks for this, and I want people to know I'm using it"


    Lol. You could use that as your sig from any device.
     
  5. Seadog

    Seadog Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,522
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0
    Don't feel too bad, many people just don't want to admit that they want to do this. Look into the facebook app and see if you can find a setup for signature. i know that you can do this on your email messages that you send from your ipad. Also look in settings/facebook.
     
  6. britpoper

    britpoper iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jakarta
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    LOL

    I think it's kinda different with signature seadog :)
    To got that kind of message is because the setting on the server rather than device. S
    Example if Facebook detect that status/photo/etc are posted via mobile and they have the settings for it, it will be posted automatically with "posted via Facebook for Blackberry/iPad/whatever". The same goes with twitter.
    There are no setting required on the devices, you only need to post it via application that are made specifically for facebook/twitter/etc, not via browser (it will said "via mobile" if posted using browser).
     
  7. HappyPelican

    HappyPelican iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    309
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pelican Island, NJ
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    I believe there are alternate FB apps in the AppStore which specifically add "via whatever app for iPad."
     
  8. Shylock

    Shylock iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    thanks, I was looking into it, and it seems the above is right, it is really controlled by facebook, but they control it by a number of methods to 'detect' what the device is, being a mobile or not. user agent, using the m.facebook service which is a mobile service, using a mobile app/etc. which can be changed in many circumstances.
     
  9. DoinicDenson

    DoinicDenson iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I didn't use facebook much now, so I can't say for sure.
     
  10. britpoper

    britpoper iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jakarta
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Hi, I just tested post a new status using facebook app on iPad just now and it says "posted via mobile".
    So maybe you can try different apps just like HappyPelican posted.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
5 minutes ago on status of facebook
,
39 minutes ago via facebook
,
facebook active minutes ago
,
facebook mobile active minutes ago?
,
facebook mobile active x minutes ago
,
facebook post as via mobile using ipad
,
fackbook cell min ago
,
how to post showing posted via ipad
,
on facebook posted via mobile
,

posted 42 minutes ago by user -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- lik