Photo app security

Discussion in 'iPad 4 Forum' started by donindacula, Jun 24, 2013.

  1. donindacula
    Offline

    donindacula iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    When I use a photo app I'm asked to give the app permission to access my photos. So, does the app/company have rights to 'take' my photos and use them or to claim them since I used their app to edit or enhance my photo? Will I find my nice Hawaiian sunset photo on the web some where.


    Thanks for any responses.
    Donindacula
  2. MoonlitSonata
    Offline

    MoonlitSonata Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,367
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Good ol' Midwest
    Ratings:
    +156 / 0
    No.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. leelai
    Offline

    leelai Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24,835
    Thanks Received:
    1,290
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,366 / 0
    Hi and welcome to the Forum,

    Apps on the iPad cannot access other apps unless you allow it first. If you want to use another photo app you will need to do this so that your photos can then be imported to your new app. This does not mean that they have access to use your photos in any other way. So no need to worry about this at all.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. KevinJS
    Offline

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,261
    Thanks Received:
    763
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +865 / 0
    This was a new feature included with iOS 6, and is designed simply to give you more control. The previous versions of iOS simply allowed any app to access your photos, so the only real difference is that you are now aware of something that had always been happening.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

if i give access to an app to my photos does that mean they can see my photos on my iphone