Password masking

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by r3g3x, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. r3g3x

    r3g3x iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I created a profile with ICU for my iPad. When I type my password in each character is echoed for a few seconds before it becomes a '*'. I noticed the same behavior with the default passcode.

    If you use MDM (mobile device management) software such as Sybase Afaria, are the characters mask as you type them?

    This is a poor security model and one that is ripe for shoulder surfing.

    Thanks!
    Jim
     
  2. devis

    devis iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    As much as I'd like to blame Apple for this, it isn't a new thing. Any device with touchscreen I've used or played with, (Android, BB, WM, Palm) does the same exact thing. The onscreen keyboard isn't a precise science, so you're being given the chance to see if you typed the password wrong the first time around. The savings translate into not having to backtrack and reenter the password only to probably make the same mistake twice. You know that thing about not learning from our own mistakes? Well, it couldn't me more true with me and typing with an on screen keyboard :)
     
  3. DarkLordEnron

    DarkLordEnron iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Shoulder surfing be damned, I like being able to correct mistakes instantaneously, instead of doing so after I hit "submit".
     
  4. sjwall68

    sjwall68 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Password Echo On/Off Needs To Be A Setting

    Upon normal use, the password echo is not a real problem for me, however as soon as you hook up the IPAD 2 to a large monitor in order to present your screen to a group of people, this now becomes a problem.

    Especially when 2 or 3 of the participants feel like reciting your password back to you in order to make a point about the security issue.

    I guess you can disconnect the display cord each time you need to enter your credentials and hope that the display syncs back up every time.

    I see a setting in our future.
     
  5. KaiHD

    KaiHD iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    562
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I love that last line. ;)
     
  6. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Me too. :)
     
  7. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    I have lost count how many times I have had to change my password after I show a friend something and unlock my iPad and they know the password. VERY ANNOYING.


    Great security apple.....
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

can i make passwords visible on ipad

,
how do i see the password i'm typing ipad
,

how to stop password from showing on ipad

,

iphone settings stop hiding password characters

,

make passwords visible on ipad

,

showing my email password on ipad

,
stop ipad safari from hiding passwords
,
stop ipad showing password letters
,
view hidden itunes password characters iphone
,

when i type my password on ipad it shows