Numbers question

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by addiosamigo, Feb 27, 2012.

  1. addiosamigo

    addiosamigo iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    955
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    In excel to change the size of a column to fit the contents you just double click the column, but in numbers I can't seem to do this I'll show you what I mean:

    In the 1st photo that is the data all fitted perfectly, the 2nd photo shows the text is increased in size but doesn't fit the columns, short of re-sizing them all manually is there another way to do this?

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,218
    Thanks Received:
    2,449
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,982 / 1
    Tap anywhere on the table to select it. Once you do so you will notice gray bars above and to the left of the table. Tap the bar next to the column or row you wish to select, and it will highlight in blue. At this point you can choose Fit from the popup menu to auto-fit the column to the text.

    If you need to adjust more than one column, use the blue dots at the left and right of the selected column to drag/select more columns. When done tap the highlighted part of the bar (blue) to get the popup menu and choose Fit.

    NumberColumnAdjust_1.jpg

    NumbersColumnAdjust_2.jpg
     
  3. addiosamigo

    addiosamigo iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    955
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    That seems to work but it still doesn't fit?

    Edit: now sorted thanks for all your help!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 27, 2012
  4. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,218
    Thanks Received:
    2,449
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,982 / 1
    You're welcome.
     
  5. Robislaughing

    Robislaughing iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Uk
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,

    I've tried this but I don't get the fit option in the pop down that you refer to. ( have selected multiple columns and want to autofit the width). Many thanks
     
  6. Robislaughing

    Robislaughing iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Uk
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've tried this ( having selected multiple columns) but don't get the fit option in the drop down that you refer to - any thoughts? Many thanks
     
  7. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,218
    Thanks Received:
    2,449
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,982 / 1
    If the column(s) is already the ideal width (or so the Numbers thinks) you will not see the fit option. Try resizing a column (drag the small blue handle at the right of the blue bar), then see if you get the Fit option.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
change column width numbers ipad
,
column width
,

how to autofit in numbers ipad

,
how to change autofit cells in numbers
,
how to change column width on numbers for ipad
,
how to fit content to box in mac numbers
,
ipad numbers app column width
,

ipad numbers autofit

,
mac numbers resizing columns to fit content
,
numbers ipad how to change cell size