What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nikon D7000 or Canon 60D?

mikeos

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm a photography student at degree level in my second year and it's about time I upgraded my current olympus consumer DLSR to something a bit more professional. I know these two models are not professional standard, but they both seem to be fairly decent cameras.

Which one should I go for?
And does anyone own either of these cameras and can tell me what it's like?
Or maybe offer a suggestion of a different camera?

My price range is about £1000 (or about $1600 for USA)

Cheers!

Somerled

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Website
www.deckyon.com
You want to look at the lens system more than the camera. Bodies are upgraded too quick and are relatively inexpensive in comparison. The lenses will last through body upgrades. Right now, Canon sports better lenses than Nikon, especially on the top end.

Somerled

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Website
www.deckyon.com
I feel I have to qualify a little more. I have been shooting professionally for a number of years. Outdoors and in more rugged areas than a studio, and the L lenses and their dust and moisture proof seals at the camera and lens joint is priceless. I have been shooting Canon since 2005 and would not trade it for the world. While my camera bodies have changed since the first rebel to a 1D Mark IV, my lenses have stayed with me. The lenses have also been the bigger investment.

I have friends who shoot Nikon and swear by them. I cannot honestly say anything bad about them. It is just that I do not want to have to go out and buy a whole new lens system just to switch brands.