What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Newbie needs help with movies

Mamp

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi,

I am completely new to all this iPad lark. Hubby has brought me an iPad 2, I want to put some of my dvd's on it for when I go into hospital (have been asking the hubby to show me for a month but am getting nowhere fast, he seems to think I am completely useless).

Anyway I downloaded one of the freebie DVD to iPod converter things & gave it a go but the movie ended up on my pad in 6 different parts! Not good when it just gets to the good bit of a movie & stops.......

Can anyone recommend a programme & give me some instructions please, would really appreciate it.

Thank

Mamp

donka

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Download the free tool called Handbrake! This has a preset for the iPad so you can just select your movie (DVD), select the iPad preset and let Handbrake do the conversion. The output file can then be dragged onto iTunes and will sync with your iPad for playback with the built in video player. Handbrake is available for both Windows and Mac.
If you want to get creative, you can create your own preset and save the output file as a MKV file that will be a lot smaller in filesize (whole movies in around 3-400mb) than the standard iPad preset and then get an app from the App Store to play these movies back such as Buzz Player HD, GoodPlayer, AcePlayer etc.

OP
M

Mamp

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Thanks, I'll give that a whirl

donka

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Happy to help. Please post if you have any questions or need some pointers.

leelai

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi and Welcome to the Forum!