New to the boards: Trying to access IMac remotely with Ipad

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by NHLNied27, Dec 15, 2010.

  1. NHLNied27

    NHLNied27 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    If anyone would help me out, I would really appreciate it. I am a mac amateur and am trying to set up my imac so I can view it remotely on my Ipad. I am not sure what settings I need to change on the Imac nor how to make the changes. I have done some research on the differences between different apps for the ipad that allow remote desktop but they all seem to do the same thing. I just need the easiest one to set up. If anyone can help me out, please respond to this post. Thank you so much.

    Bill
     
  2. Dannyboy85

    Dannyboy85 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    645
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Splashtop is the best but you do havetoo assign your router to portforward if viewing from another network. If you want simple try iTeleport.
     
  3. NHLNied27

    NHLNied27 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thank you. How do I set up my mac for remote desktop access? Thanks.
     
  4. Dannyboy85

    Dannyboy85 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    645
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Whatever app you choose to go with they will have a howto on what you need to install on your Mac to make it work.
     
  5. NHLNied27

    NHLNied27 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thank you so much. This is a big help.
     
  6. NHLNied27

    NHLNied27 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Does anyone know how I can access sound while using a remote connection when watching streaming video via the iPad? Thanks.
     
  7. USBill

    USBill iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Apple - Remote Desktop 3 - Tutorials - Easy Set Up
    In the linked video, the iPad will substitute as the "Admin computer"

    It's not as easy as enabling remote desktop on Windows, but it's not hard, there are just a lot of things to click.

    If you want to get to your computer from outside your own network, over the Internet, you'll have a bit more work to do.
     
  8. NHLNied27

    NHLNied27 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I purchased iteleport to access a remote desktop on my iPad but there is no sound. Can I do something to have access to the sound or is this a lost cause? Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

access imac from ipad

,
can i access my imac from my ipad
,
how do i access ipad information on my imac?
,
how do i access my imac from my ipad?
,
how to access imac from ipad
,
how to access my imac from my ipad
,
network ipad to imac
,
remote access from ipad to imac
,
remote access to imac via ipad
,
viewing imac on ipad