Need help , just fought with Airport Express for 2 hours -- am I okay?

Discussion in 'iPad 3 Forum' started by Chris561, Jun 30, 2012.

  1. Chris561

    Chris561 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Hey guys. Moved into a new extended stay type hotel...

    I have never had Internet so fast I'm so happy !! Now , they said "I shouldn't use a router because it may slow other people down"

    So I bought an airport express --

    - the hotel has a "access code login page" for security. I used my code on my laptop (didn't think to download airport app on the pad -- even though someone has an unsecured wifi network (blazing fast lol)

    -- I got the airport app , everything was fine

    -- got to the login page , entered code and it no longer worked .

    -- called front desk and got a new one , it worked ... Then I went to settings and under wifi I selected the airport hub like an idiot thinking I can customize stuff (not airport app just the airport thing in settings) ...

    ---- Start safari , "login" pops up -- code dead.

    Now I just got a new code and it's fine ... But I'm not using security but I AM using "hidden network". I'm scared to even attempt to update/change anything in fear of needing a fourth code within 3 hours of move in ...

    It's just a little hotel , is being "hidden" enough security ? I did use the airport app And made it hidden / crossed fingers / and reconnected and its fine. So am i good to go ?

    Thanks guys -- its been a loooooong time since using very high speed internet , my last place was like dial up!!!!
     
  2. iDeviceGuru

    iDeviceGuru iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    So are you asking if the network you are connected to is safe to connect to?

    The iDevice Guru
     
  3. Chris561

    Chris561 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I mean ... I am asking if using "none" for security and keeping the network hidden , will prevent anyone from "watching me" lol.

    I'm not a newb , but never had to deal with plug in high speed :(

    I'm afraid if I select WPA2 that the hotel code will be reset ..
     
  4. iDeviceGuru

    iDeviceGuru iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No one can watch you ha ha. Don't worry about it.

    The iDevice Guru
     
  5. Chris561

    Chris561 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Thanks Guru ,

    I assumed if its hidden , (being at this location and not knowing anyone) that I wouldn't need a password.

    I pay $40 a month for the Internet :( I think the login "access code" can tell when multiple devices use the same code -- therefore they invalidate it.
     
  6. Chris561

    Chris561 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Guru ...

    If my girlfriend comes over with her laptop , I know her trying to use the code I used to set up would kill it.

    I'm trying to see if I should use MyWi so she can just go off my connection -- or give her the login to my Air Port.

    Do you think they'd be able to tell (hotel ISP) ? I doubt it because she's going to connect to the Air Port ...

    So MyWi or give her the login information for airport ?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

airport express hotel login page

,
airport express hotel wifi security
,
new airport express 2012 hotel