airport express

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions - Site Assistance' started by Tate, May 8, 2012.

  1. Tate

    Tate iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I purchased an ipad with the notion of using it as my sole home computer. Therefore, I purchased an airport express to provide wifi to my house. I wasn't sure if I could set it up with just the ipad, but I gave it a shot and got as far as naming the gadget and providing a password. It didn't work. I brought a windows computer home and installed airport utility. It still didn't work. I hooked up the airport express at the office and it worked fine. While I was on the internet, I installed airport utility on the ipad and tried it again at home. No soap. I then tried resetting it a couple times, eventually changing the name that I'd originally assigned it. Still no soap. The ipad recognizes the airport express, says it's got a strong signal, but won't connect to it. Actually, the airport utility says it is "disconnected." I might think that the airport express and my motorala modem were incompatible, but before my imac was stolen, I'd had an airport express hooked up and it worked fine. Anybody have a similar problem that got fixed?
     
  2. fleur07

    fleur07 iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,535
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Here, There, Everywhere
    Ratings:
    +93 / 0
    Welcome! This forum is filled with many wonderful people ready to help! Remember the search feature will be your best friend while on here.


    I'm sorry I'm not much help with your problem and hopefully someone will be along soon that can help you. In the meanwhile here are a few links you may find useful.

    We also have our own App - Its pretty easy to use.
    http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/discussion-forum-for-ipad/id412896524?mt=8

    We have an iPad manual available for download incase you ever need it.
    http://www.support.apple.com/manuals/ipad/

    Here are a couple links that may prove useful.
    http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-general-discussions/21590-tips-tricks-those-us-who-dont-know.html
    http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-os/49581-ios5-tips-tricks.html


    Everyone has to play by the rules, please make sure you read and follow them.
    http://www.ipadforums.net/forum-rules-help-info/2119-forum-rules-everybody-please-read.html#post14697


    We hope you enjoy your time here!
    Fleur
     
  3. magpiemini

    magpiemini iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca.
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    First at home you need to know if your motorolla modem (and thus your internet provider) is expecting your airport express to be in the DHCP mode or use a supplied IP address. Make sure your airport express connects to your motorolla modem or you will not get anywhere.

    By your description it sounds like the airport express is set to DHCP, that is why it works in other places outside your home. I am guessing it is a configuration problem that your internet (cable?) provider can help you solve.
     
  4. fleur07

    fleur07 iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,535
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Here, There, Everywhere
    Ratings:
    +93 / 0
    Thanks Magpiemini! I knew someone would come along with a solution. That's why I love this forum and it's members! Always helping each other!
     
  5. Tate

    Tate iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks, I'll call when I get home today.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
airport express internet disconnected
,
airport express signal on my ipad but it is disconnected
,
airport utility on ipad shows internet disconnected
,
how do i connect my airport express to my ipad with wifi?
,
how do i connect my ipad to my airport express
,

ipad won't connect to airport express

,
ipad won't link to airport express wifi
,
ipad won't reconnect to airport
,
why is my airport utility internet disconnected
,
why won't my ipad connect to my airport extreme?