My iPad 3G (iOS 4.2 GM) only displays EDGE.

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by DrBRAD, Nov 9, 2010.

  1. DrBRAD

    DrBRAD iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm wondering if anyone else is having this problem. Ever since I upgraded to iOS 4.2, I can no longer get a 3G signal (my iPad only stays on EDGE).

    Has anyone else had this problem? It could be a coincidental hardware issue (like the antenna is messed up).

    Today in iPad - iOS, iPhone, Apple - Download free podcast episodes by Dr. Brad on iTunes.

    -Dr. Brad (From the Today in iPad Podcast)
     
  2. BrennB

    BrennB iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    No problem with mine.
     
  3. ocp

    ocp iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ya having that issue, did network reset and still nogo
     
  4. raylock

    raylock iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No problem here either
     
  5. cherhall

    cherhall iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I have this problem too. Didn't associate it with 4.2 however til reading your post because I didn't have 3G service at my home til today! So I was running 4.2 before I realized I had the problem! Three iPhones, and three iPads in the house, and only my iPad has this issue, and I'm the only one who has upgraded to 4.2.
     
  6. docguy

    docguy iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Herriman, UT
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Same problem

    I have the same problem. Apple support told me that it must be an AT&T issue -- that they don't have 3G coverage here. I told her that I've been using 3G at home and work successfully for the 5 months I've had my iPad, and it only stopped working on the day I upgraded to iOS4.2. She said that there must be more people on the network now, so I can't get 3G.

    That is BS. The day I upgrade to iOS4.2, 3G stopped working everywhere I go. It is clearly an iOS4.2 issue, even if Apple won't admit it.

    I tried resetting the network, and I still only get Edge connectivity. She told me to reset my iPad to factory settings. I can't do it at work, so I'll try it tonight. I'm not holding my breath.

    If that doesn't work, I'm going to take it back to the Apple store for a hardware issue.
     
  7. mrsfoster7503

    mrsfoster7503 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Same Problem but I didn't upgrade yet!

    I've been on Edge network only since the weekend, and I haven't even upgraded to the new OS yet. I am still on 3.2.2 (I'm jailbroken). This has to be bigger than the update. I'm beyond frustrated. :-(
     
  8. jopi1954

    jopi1954 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    india
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ipad stuck on Edge....PROBLEM SOLVED

    After much struggling i solved the problem :)
    Just restored the ipad to original settings and setup as a new ipad.... if you restore the backup the problem remains... !!!
     
  9. cherhall

    cherhall iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I solved it the same way. I restored and had 3G, then put my backup on and was back to Edge. Did another restore and started from scratch and retained my 3G. A real pain to say the least, but at least I can finally use the 3G which has finally become available here!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
ipad 2 shows e not 3g
,
ipad cannot 3g only edge
,
ipad only shows edge
,
ipad stuck on roaming 3g
,

ipad2 only edge

,
ipad3 only connect to edge
,
my ipad connects to edge instead of 3g help
,

my ipad stays on edge

,
sinyal ipad edge
,
why doesn't my ipad show e instead of the 3g