Itunes And Windows 7 Fragmentation

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by ipfuser55, May 25, 2011.

  1. ipfuser55

    ipfuser55
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Has anyone else noticed this? I run a powerful Pc, Win 7 (32 bit not by choice) And itunes causes massive fragmenttion every time it syns with my Ipad. This causes slow downs and drives me nut's in other work.

    The PC is one I built myself. 64GB ram, Quad core BB AMD CPU 2x dual GPU grapihcs cards. And 4 TB of installed HDD space, and a SATA caddy I use to hotswap drives with archived data on them.

    I also have a powerful laptop, but with Windows 7 64 bit installed. It's had itines on it, but my main library is on the 32 beast.

    Seeing as I'm stuck with Windows ( it's the music business...they love Bill Gates) I'm thinking about a mac mini for my Ipad, phone etc.

    It's got to the point where I have to defrag. the thing every day. Ideas?:)
     
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Go SSD

    OCZ

    Tim :D
     
  3. ipfuser55

    ipfuser55
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks!


    For that one! :D
     
  4. ipfuser55

    ipfuser55
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That's Good

    Not understanding it means you are not stuck with the problem :D:D
     
  5. kierandill

    kierandill
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Not much point in 64GB of RAM with 32 bit Windows, but I digress.

    With that much potential power, you could consider virtualization for your 32-bit needs, and 64-bit for the host OS. Don't know if what you need to run 32-bit can live in a VM or not.

    I assume the fragmentation is on the partition that has all the iTunes library? I will look at my iTunes htpc when I get home, a modest Win7 32-bit dual core and see what it has - I've never defragged it.
     
  6. Dushtin

    Dushtin
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    win32 is only capable of utilizing 2gb of ram. Why would anyone ever even need 64gb's? Are you running 100 copies of photoshop at the same time? :D
     
  7. ipfuser55

    ipfuser55
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Kind of :) video and music rendering software needs the grunt. You can utilise the ram in Win7 with a few tweaks, but since all my stuff is real time, it's required.... Sadly :)

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
     
  8. info

    info
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    957
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Interesting, I'll keep an eye out. Recently, I experienced a dramatic slowdown on one of my machines... rather suddenly. Cleaning up things and defragging brought everything back to speed but I didn't think of associating the problem with iTunes.
     
    #8 info, May 25, 2011
    Last edited: May 25, 2011
  9. kierandill

    kierandill
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Actually it is closer to nearly 3-1/2GB, depending on the system particulars, but that didn't keep me from putting 4GB in the 32bit machine I have. That is "available to the OS". Sure the rest is wasted, but 3.5GB runs alot better than 2GB.
     
  10. retexan599

    retexan599
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Defrag is automatic on my Vista machine

    I have my Vista PC set to regularly and automatically defrag once per week without my participation at all. I don't think I have overtly forced a defrag in several years now and don't even think about it. Is that not a feature in Windows 7?
     

Share This Page