Is there a way to keep photo stream on, but not upload new pics?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by Sonicrobby, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. Sonicrobby
    Offline

    Sonicrobby iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    505
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    Simple, I want the pics on my iPhone to upload to photo stream, so I can view on my iPad, but I DON'T want photos taken my iPad uploading to photo stream. Is this possible? Or is it simply an all or nothing thing?
  2. joeyteel
    Offline

    joeyteel iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    193
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Depends on if you're running iOS 6 and whether or not you mind a little manual intervention.

    If you turn off the photo stream but leave the shared streams enabled you can create a shared stream not actually shared with anyone and that will sync. It's a manual process though since you have to manually add photos to the shared stream that you want on both devices.

    Another method (and the one I actually use) is I actually sync the photo stream folder on my computer via iTunes. It's not easy to setup if you are already syncing photos via iTunes, and you have to manually cleanup your folder or it will end up filling up your iPad if you're not careful :)

    The setup I use only really works if you don't mind your stream being outdated every time you take pictures between syncs.
  3. Sonicrobby
    Offline

    Sonicrobby iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    505
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    I actually do like both solutions! Will try them both out to see which I prefer. Thanks for your help

Share This Page