1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

iPad development with windows?

Discussion in 'iPad Development' started by ch4rly, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. ch4rly
    Offline

    ch4rly iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
  2. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Nope Never tried them.

    And it may not be worth it as its against the developer agreement and apple can reject your app for not making it in Xcode on a MAC.
  3. ch4rly
    Offline

    ch4rly iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    What a pitty, but thanks for the info!
  4. simonnouwens
    Offline

    simonnouwens iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It's possible with adobe flash CS5, you should, however, buy an apple develop program (or find other ways to do it, there somewhere on the web ;) )

    I tried it, and it works. I beleive there are even some apps in the appstore made with adobe.

    PM me if you want more details..

    Cheers
  5. ch4rly
    Offline

    ch4rly iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Many thanks!
    I found the "Packager for iPhone Developer FAQ" and it sounds promising.
  6. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    apple updated the developer agreement to not allow apps made with adobe flash CS5.

    It was big new a while back and adobe made a big stink about it.


    http://www.knowyourcell.com/news/45...elopment_using_adobes_flash_cs5_compiler.html
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2010
  7. ipadfanatic
    Offline

    ipadfanatic iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yeah Apple is pretty anal about the use of XCode but hey there is always Cydia :)
  8. ch4rly
    Offline

    ch4rly iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    From the FAQ:

    Seems also to me like you can only develop for Cydia with CS5. A question for me is if you can access WiFi with Adobe Flash...
  9. simonnouwens
    Offline

    simonnouwens iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Gimme 2 days, expecting to get my ipad today and will start trying then. Anyway, if your serious about programming for ipad (with releases in appstore etc) you should get a mac.
  10. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    A question for me is if you can access WiFi with Adobe Flash...[/QUOTE]

    has nothing to do with the apps. if your ipad can connect to wifi then connect to wifi. The app just knows if your connected to the internet. Its possible to detect if the ipad is using wifi or 3g however your app does nothing to the connections.
  11. simonnouwens
    Offline

    simonnouwens iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Got it in today, hope i can give you some exaples this weekend!
  12. ch4rly
    Offline

    ch4rly iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am curious. Did you try something?
  13. simonnouwens
    Offline

    simonnouwens iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes. It's actually working. You can make an appilication (.ipa file) with cs5, with a screensize of 768 x 1024. Then use fullforce to make it look like an ipad app. Haven't done anything but a small test yet, but atleast i know it works..
  14. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    works, but you cant submit it to the apple app store.
  15. dapeeper
    Offline

    dapeeper iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes there are

    Mobione for web apps http://www.genuitec.com/mobile/

    RealStudio for any type of apps. REAL Software: REAL Studio, Best Development Tool for Mac, Windows and Linux
    Unity3d and Torque for games - (use google)

    The first you can develop on a PC

    The second you can develop on a PC and it generates files for cross platform - iPad/Windows?Linux. You need a MAC to compile.

    The games (last 2) can be developed and tested on a PC and then generated and compiled on a MAC.

    You need a MAC because Apple prohibits its XCODE from being installed on anything other than a MAC so these apps are forced to get you to do this on a MAC.

    If you don't have a MAC you could use a Virtual PC and run it in that. For that you need to use google.:)
  16. lipemh
    Offline

    lipemh iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brazil
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Do you developement in iPad?

    I need your help...

    tks
  17. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    just buy a mac mini, there like $550
  18. bigchicken
    Offline

    bigchicken iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    See my post here for an overview of iPad development options. There are a few that work in Windows!

    mike
    :8^]

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
apple app development on windows
,
apple development on windows xp
,
develop for ipad on windows
,
develop ipad apps on windows
,
develop on windows and test on ipad without a mac
,
developing for ipad on windows
,
developing ipad apps on windows
,
ipad app development on windows
,
ipad app development tools for windows
,
ipad app development windows
,
ipad application development on windows
,
ipad apps development on windows
,
ipad development for windows
,
ipad development in windows
,
ipad development kit for windows
,

ipad development on windows

,
ipad development windows
,
ipad programming on windows
,
ipad software development on windows
,
programming for ipad on windows