Ipad and Imac Tiger

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by rancherwillie, May 10, 2010.

  1. rancherwillie

    rancherwillie
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    According to the ipad specs my old imac on tiger is not compatible. Is that important since I will not be dumping files or photos from the imac.

    On apple chat they told me if my itunes is current thats all that matters to buy books, music, movies etc.

    I would appreciate any thoughts on this.

    Thanks, willie
     
  2. rtking

    rtking
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry Willie, but you're going to needto upgrade to OS X Leopard at a minimum.

    I have Tiger on my Mac Mini and could not sync/activate even with the latest iTunes.
     
  3. col.bris

    col.bris
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,849
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Yes the answer is no. One option is to purchase a second hand later model that has Leopard on it or even a a low cost win 7 net computer (not my choice though) Regards Colin
     
  4. rancherwillie

    rancherwillie
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    tiger

    I was afraid of that. I guess apple knew we would not buy the ipad if our current systems were not compatible. Not sure what we will do now that it means around 1500 bucks to get ipad plus leopard. Thanks for your input.
     
  5. rancherwillie

    rancherwillie
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ipad/Imac OS Upgrade

    Good news for my old tiger imac. For $99 I can get leopard 10.5.8 installed so my compatibility issue is solved.

    Thank you all for your input...

    willie
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page

does the ipad mini work with os tiger