1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Ipad 1no 3g

Discussion in 'iPad Carriers' started by glaze77, Aug 18, 2011.

  1. glaze77
    Offline

    glaze77 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi everyone I hope some one can help as I am new to iPad, I have just got a iPad 1 16gb wif +3G. My problem is I was told it is sim free bought pay as you go so got a three network sim but when I put it in all I am getting is the sig bar & no network name, I have had a look at the setting &have no carrier in the setting, all so when I connect to iTunes I get the sim not supported, I forgot to say it on 4.3.3 & has been jb. Please can some one help I love this iPad it has come my baby but need the 3G bad. Thank's for reading Martin
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +120 / 0
    Did you purchase from an Apple Store or from eBay?

    Several Members have purchased iPads from eBay and were told they were SIM unlocked but they were, in fact, locked to Orange.

    Tim
  3. glaze77
    Offline

    glaze77 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi no from gumtree, I don't think he would lie as he has been very helpful with other things but how would I know if it is locked.
    I have used a pushfix for the carrier & it will be in the setting for a few mins but then goes again.thanks for replying Martin
  4. glaze77
    Offline

    glaze77 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Just one more thing it has now gone to no service at the sig bars if that means anything.
  5. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +120 / 0
    What other networks can it see?

    Tim
  6. glaze77
    Offline

    glaze77 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Just the wifi
  7. glaze77
    Offline

    glaze77 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi TIm do you think I need to set up the pan settings for the three network if so do you or anybody know them thanks for the replys MArtin
  8. glaze77
    Offline

    glaze77 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi can any one tell me how to know if my iPad is locked to a network thanks.
  9. glaze77
    Offline

    glaze77 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi just a update if some can help. I have just got off the phone with apple store in London & gave them the serial number & they say that the iPad is not locked so do not know what to do. In the iPad setting it says carrier not available also the carrier setting is coming & going from the setting. iTunes will not let me restore or update I keep getting the timed out. I am using 3g on my laptop would this be the problem. So can some please help thanks for reading Martin.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  10. glaze77
    Offline

    glaze77 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi quick update well TIm you are right it is on Orange. I bought a pay as you go sim from the corner shop & cut to size. so how do I use it, just put some money on it. Do i still got to connect it iTunes. Thanks for the replys & thankful for your help all the best Marti
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2011
Similar Threads
  1. normanowens
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    1,185
  2. tom1252
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,027
  3. Deanweijie
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,002
  4. tracie1986
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,918
  5. Werner36
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    535
Loading...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how do i know if my ipad is sim free
,

ipad 1 no 3g

,
ipad 1 no lock as not 3g
,
ipad 1no sim