Ios 6 issues

Discussion in 'iPad 3 Forum' started by johnml, Sep 19, 2012.

  1. johnml

    johnml
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Has anybody had any luck using FaceTime over 3G 4G? Whenever I try to connect I get a pop up that tells me to either connect to 3G or WIFI even though I'm already connected.
     
  2. ericwalker425

    ericwalker425
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ill let you know i'm still trying to download the 1.11 gb update on my slow 6gb wifi
     
  3. Seadog

    Seadog
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,522
    Thanks Received:
    52
    It appears that the carriers are refusing to allow Facetime over 3/4G without getting a new plan.
     
  4. scifan57

    scifan57
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    25,014
    Thanks Received:
    6,136
    Personally, I think it's none of the carrier's business how I use my data allowance. Charging extra for FaceTime over 3G/4G is nothing more than a cash grab by the cellphone companies.
     
  5. KevinJS

    KevinJS
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,391
    Thanks Received:
    965
    I think you should be OK with SaskTel, though. They just have a plan, and it's up to you how you use it, right? And I think it's somewhat more generous than Telus.

    Sent from my iPhone using iPF
     
  6. Bluray

    Bluray
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Agree 100% with you on charging extra, I don't think this is an issue with all the networks from around the world though as with my provider in SA I can do FaceTime over 3G.
     
  7. scifan57

    scifan57
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    25,014
    Thanks Received:
    6,136
    I have an unlimited data plan, but I've not asked them what their policy about FaceTime over 3G is.
     
  8. Seadog

    Seadog
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,522
    Thanks Received:
    52
    While I agree with it being no business of the carriers, they are trying to manage their overworked data systems. This is just one of the many ways that they are trying to lure customers away from the old unlimited plans.
     
  9. johnml

    johnml
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Anybody have any luck with FaceTime over 3/4G? I have friends with the new iPhone and FaceTime works. It does not work over my grandfathered unlimited plan with AT&T. Before the ios6 update it wouldn't even let me access my contacts list while on 4G, now it does and lets me choose somebody, but no ring?
     
  10. scifan57

    scifan57
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    25,014
    Thanks Received:
    6,136
    I just had a FaceTime conversation with a friend earlier this morning. My plan doesn't charge extra for FaceTime over cellular systems. AT&T has announced that they will be charging customers a fee to use FaceTime over 3G/4G. If you haven't signed up with your carrier to allow Facebook, you won't be able to use it.
     
Similar Threads
  1. seldhan
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,024
  2. Maura
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    3,880
  3. xTyler
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,317
Loading...

Share This Page



Search tags for this page

ios 6 ipad 2 issues