What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Importing photos with labels from PC into iPad

maddaze

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Have a brand-new iPad Mini, bought for the purpose of showing my photos of heritage sites around Bordeaux. I have thousands of such photos organized into hundreds of folders, subfolders, and sub-subfolders on my PC and would like to import them into the iPad, preserving the folder/subfolder/sub-subfolder structure I have now. I would also like to pass along the titles of the photos. As an accomplished programmer, I can manipulate them as required to facilitate the import. As you can imagine, I don't want to have to manually recreate anything on the iPad. Any suggestions on how to accomplish this?

Harvey in chilly Bordeaux (0°C)

giradman

iPad Fan
Reaction score
Hi Harvey - welcome to the forum! :) First, I'm afraid that you will be quite frustrated in getting your photos onto the iPad in the hierarchical structure that exists on the PC; and second, further disappointed in the transference of your titles - sorry. The native photo app (or the iPhoto app) is rather limited and will not bring in your pics as you may desire. Now, I have over a dozen photo apps (some for editing, others for organization, or both) - the reason is that there just is not an ideal solution to photo manipulation/sorting in iOS, which is an 'app centric' operating system.