What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hi All!

JROW

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I am a business professional lucky enough to be the guinea pig for our first Apple product. I hope this site will be helpful to get information, especially concerning business apps (I will of course be using the iPad for pleasure as well).

richsadams

iPF Noob
Reaction score
iPad Office Apps Review

Here's a copy of a post I made on another website answering a member's questions about what business apps work best on the iPad...

pcguru83 said:
For those who use Pages on the iPad, is there a way to save in a Microsoft Word format directly from the iPad? I know the desktop version supports this, but wasn't sure about on the iPad. If not, are there any iPad applications that can create and edit Word docs?

The same question holds for Numbers and Keynote as well with regards to their MS equivalent.
Funny you should ask. I did some research for my company before we issued iPads to the field teams recently. Like most companies our business uses MS Office primarily and I had to determine the best software for the iPad to be able to read and save Word, Excel, PowerPoint and PDF files. For day-to-day use Pages, Numbers, Keynote and GoodReader were fine. However when it came to editing and saving documents in Word and especially Excel, Pages and Numbers weren't up to the task.

So I downloaded and tried some other office apps. Besides Apple’s iWork Suite (Pages, Numbers, Keynote) these were the highest rated:

- Office2 HD ($7.99)
- Documents to Go ($9.99)
- QuickOffice ($14.99)