What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Greetings from an old new user

P

Pablo_Vilas

Now that I've gotten my burning question off my chest, discovering in the process that the answer was in the user guide all along, I would like to introduce myself.

I live in a large city in the rain-blessed northwest, where I work in IT. My friends think I must not be too good at it, because when they ask me to help them with Windows problems it always turns out that I don't know any more about it than they do (I work in Unix).

I am a male and 24, with an acid stomach, flat feet, thinning hair and bifocals. Okay, my body is 62 ... but I'm 24 inside! I fell in love with computers in college (University of Washington, 1970 and 73). In those days computer nerds were easy to spot on campus because we carried long brown boxes full of 80-column punch cards. I have worked and played with computers ever since. In the 1970s we lusted for personal computers, but when the decade started the only way to get one was to build it yourself. I wasn't up for that; so my first computer was an Atari 800, purchased in 1981. Atari got an incredible amount of action out of 32 KB of memory and a 4 Khz 6502 chip; I've never had as much fun with any computer since.