Gps

Discussion in 'iPad OS' started by edenforge, Feb 3, 2011.

  1. edenforge
    Offline

    edenforge iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi folks,
    I'm thinking of getting an iPad and would like some advice please.
    My understanding is that only the 3G models have built in GPS, is that correct?
    On the assumption that it is correct, do you need a SIM card inplace to get the GPS to work, or is it a proper GPS chip?
    Regards
    Bob
  2. mi04se1
    Offline

    mi04se1 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    White Lake, Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    GPS works on both models, but on the wi-fi model, the gps can only go by wi-fi accesspoints. Thats why I got a 3G model for that reason. You can get a BT gps puck to work with wi-fi only, but IMO, its too much hassle. The gps works without wi-fi on or 3g data on the 3g-wi-fi model. I tried inside my house and it locks quick and is accurate.
  3. deckyon
    Offline

    deckyon iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, KY - USA
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    "Location" works on both models, but only the 3G has the full-fledged GPS chipset.

    There is 1 BlueTooth GPs puck that works with the iPad, however at $100 you may as well spend the $30 difference and get the 3G model - even if you never use the 3G radio or service. 3G does not have to be on in order for the GPS to work.
  4. Pocobear
    Offline

    Pocobear iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, usa
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    On the other hand, having 3G on will allow for faster location finding and a little better accuracy.
  5. RAC
    Offline

    RAC iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    I think that the official Apple web site is (even now) open to misinterpretation on this matter. Anyone can be forgiven for thinking that the both models have GPS after reading the web site. They really should explicitly say that the WiFi model does't have GPS. Also, in my opinion, "Wi-Fi + 3G model" can easily be misinterpreted as "Wi-Fi and 3G models" especially in non English speaking countries.

    This is what you find under Tech Specs

    Location
    Wi-Fi
    Digital compass
    Assisted GPS (Wi-Fi + 3G model)
    Cellular (Wi-Fi + 3G model)
  6. mi04se1
    Offline

    mi04se1 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    White Lake, Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thats what I thought at first. Before I bought mine, I did some exploring to find out only the 3g model has real gps.
  7. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,545
    Thanks Received:
    2,080
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,424 / 1
    If you buy it in the USA, it will come with a SIM card installed. You do not have to activate the 3G service for the GPS to work, though it may not be able to use some of it's enhanced services to achieve faster location locks when you are out of WiFi range.

    3G services come in two plans (250MB for $14.99 and 2GB for $29.99) that you can activate and deactivate at your convenience. They will auto renew if you forget to deactivate them before each period expires, but in compensation they will not allow you to go over you limit and get charged extra. If you do go over you limit and want more data you have to manually purchase another 250MB or 2GB of data at the same price.

    The upshot, buy 3G. If you want it you can get it almost instantly. Otherwise you don't spend a penny over the extra $30 you pay to have the option, and GPS of course.

    I have no idea if the GPS would work if there was no SIM card installed. I believe you can buy them this way in Europe, so maybe one of our friends over there can answer that question, if it is still important.
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2011
  8. RAC
    Offline

    RAC iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    I did discover this fact before I purchased. What didn't occur to me was to get the 3G version without a data plan. If I had to decide again, I would do that to get GPS.
  9. edenforge
    Offline

    edenforge iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Many thanks to all for the advice, looks like it is the 3G that I want :)
    All the best
    Bob
  10. Brewc
    Offline

    Brewc iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Compass? where is this at there isnt a icon like I see like onthe iphone 4?
  11. DrHouse
    Offline

    DrHouse iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Quebec
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0
    I have a 16G Wifi only iPad, and the gps is working the same as my iPhone. Of course, I never tried it on the road since I need an Internet connection when moving around, but I have been at a few places and each time, the gps game me my exact location on the map.

    I bought mine in Canada at FutureShop.
  12. dcamjones
    Offline

    dcamjones iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The wifi only iPad will work with bt gps pucks. There is only one apple endorsed one now. However if you j/b you can use any of them. I am using a visiontac that cost $30. It is about the size of a zippo lighter and works great.
  13. Mike_73
    Offline

    Mike_73 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Can you point me to the apple endorsed one?
    I always find the ones you have jb your device for (well, did that, but for my iPod I want to see 4.3 first before jbing that one, too)
  14. Henning737
    Offline

    Henning737 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    GNS 5870 is the one - 99$
  15. Mike_73
    Offline

    Mike_73 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Just checked on amazon, and I really don't like the design. It looks dated :(
  16. MattIM
    Offline

    MattIM Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,230
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0
    You have to buy a Compass app to get an icon. There are many compass apps available in the AppStore. I don't use a compass specifically because the navigation app I use to locate where I am -- Motion GPS HD --has a built in compass.
  17. Henning737
    Offline

    Henning737 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Greenpois0ned my iPad and installed BTstack GPS - works now with iPharos Bluetooth GPS ;)

    iPad 64GB greenpois0n unthethered
  18. Prasius
    Offline

    Prasius iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Uk
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    The GPS does work without 3G being activated. :)
  19. edenforge
    Offline

    edenforge iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks for the advice everyone, 3G version now purchased :)
    Bob
  20. celsius
    Offline

    celsius iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That is the simplest solution!
    Tackling it other ways is just hassle.
Similar Threads
  1. Bfreesun
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    5,564
  2. SCCAguy
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    2,560
  3. Vettecor
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    1,223
  4. jantee
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    568
  5. fdbob
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    704
Loading...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
adding gps puck to ipad 3
,
do you need a sim card for the gps to work?
,
do you need a sim card in ipad to use gps
,
do you need a sim card to use gps on ipad?
,
gps on ipad forum
,

gps puck for ipad

,
gps puck for ipad mini
,
gps pucks for ipad
,
i pad puck
,

ipad gps puck

,
ipad gpspuck
,
ipad mini gps works without dat card
,
ipad need sim card for gps to work
,
ipad with gps puck
,
ipad4 3g does gps work without sim card
,
ipharos iphone
,
navionics ipad puck
,
puck gps for ipad
,
use gps puck on ipad