Filebrowser app remote access

Discussion in 'Productivity Apps Forum' started by Hawaiian, Jan 10, 2013.

  1. Hawaiian
    Offline

    Hawaiian iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I cannot get my filebrowser app to connect remotely-on 4G. Connects fine on my home wifi but will not connect on public wifi or through 4G. I've tried reconfiguring my browser but still no joy! Help!
  2. wingzfan61
    Offline

    wingzfan61 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Have you opened the necessary ports for the pc on your router to allow outside access?
  3. Hawaiian
    Offline

    Hawaiian iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I followed the directions from the apps website... I thought I did everything right, but apparently not.
  4. wingzfan61
    Offline

    wingzfan61 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    First thing is check the ports on your router and make sure they are definitely open then if so post back any errors you get.
  5. Hawaiian
    Offline

    Hawaiian iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    When you say open the necessary ports, do you mean port forwarding to my NAS? I may be doing things wrong...
  6. wingzfan61
    Offline

    wingzfan61 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    You gotta forward the ports to whatever ip address your files are stored on. So if its the NAS then yes you gotta open the inbound ports for that ip
  7. Hawaiian
    Offline

    Hawaiian iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I do that here?
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357834526.974992.jpg
  8. wingzfan61
    Offline

    wingzfan61 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Yep and if its the "stratospherix" filebrowser app the port is 445.
  9. Hawaiian
    Offline

    Hawaiian iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    So 445 on the inbound port and my NAS address and 445 on the private port? Anything else need to be changed?
  10. wingzfan61
    Offline

    wingzfan61 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    That should do it.
  11. Hawaiian
    Offline

    Hawaiian iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok.. Still not working, but I will try again when I get home aft work. Thank for all the help! I'm sure I will be bothering you again later.
  12. Hawaiian
    Offline

    Hawaiian iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok made changes and still not working! What next?

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

accessing nas remotely using filebrowser app

,

file browser app remote access over the net

,

filebrowser