Delete photos?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by Melie, Sep 26, 2020.

  1. Melie

    Melie
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Greetings experts,

    I need help once again. Is there a way to delete all photos from my iPhone to free up space and still keep them on the two iPads that I have?

    Thank you
    Mark
     
  2. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend II

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    21,869
    Thanks Received:
    8,680
    If you are using iCloud Photo Library on all the devices, then the library is synced, and photos deleted on one device will be deleted on all. If you are not using iCloud Photo Library, then what happens on one device should not affect the others.

    If you turn off iCloud Photo Library on the iPhone, it should give you a few options. I’m not sure what they are, but as long as you don’t choose something that says permanently delete photos from all devices or the library, you’ll be good. However, if you re-add the phone to iCloud Library all photos will be resynced.

    If you turn off iCloud Photo Library on you iPhone, I recommend turing on “Upload to My Photo Stream” on both the iPad and iPhone. This will let you view the 1000 most recent photos taken on both devices. Keep in mind that photos that you take on the Phone like this will not be permanentlhy saved off the iPhone unless you select and save them to the main library on the iPad.

    Optionally, you can turn on Optimize iPhone Storage in Settings > Photos.

    I have about under 7600 photos in my iCloud Photo Library. In my iCloud Storage this take a little over 28 GB. On my iPhone, with the Optimize setting on, it only uses 1.5 GB of local storage. This can vary a bit, as recently viewed photos will be maintained at full size for some time before being optimized again. It also means that if you have no internet, you will only be able to view somewhat degraded versions of the photos.

    Also, if you have Photos enabled under Settings > Wi-Fi, use of the Photos app when away from wi-fi will increase you’re cellular plan usage. Opening older photos for full screen viewing will automatically download the full version. You can see this in action, as the photo will suddenly improve shortly after opening. There is also a small download progress icon in the lower right (or maybe left) of the screen)
     
  3. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    21,703
    Thanks Received:
    14,569
    Do you intend to free up storage space in iCloud, or on your device?
     

Share This Page