Delete a sinle photo from an album - not all albums!

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by logansar, Nov 27, 2011.

  1. logansar
    Offline

    logansar iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have created an album moved several photos to it. When I returned to the original album to delete the original photo it ask "delete everywhere - photo in two albums". I don't want to delete all of them - just one.

    How can I only delete the original photos not the ones in the new album?

    Sarge
  2. Czevski
    Online

    Czevski iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,041
    Thanks Received:
    291
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Weston WI
    Ratings:
    +294 / 0
    The albums do not transfer the photos. They have an indicator (like the desktop icons on your pc) to the original photos. You will always have an all photos group with the originals where deleting will delete from created albums.
  3. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,293
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington USA
    Ratings:
    +87 / 0
    Sarge,

    You're run into one of the annoying aspects of the iPad's photo handling. Prior to iOS 5 you could not create an album via the iPad; you had to do it on a computer that supports a "common file system." Once you created such a folder on your computer you could then "sync" the folder to your iPad and the photos would show up in an "album" on your iPad. It was a PITA workaround to cope with the weakness of the iPad's file handling capabilities.

    OK. Now with iOS 5.x you can create an "album" on the iPad. But Apple's implementation is (to put it diplomatically) half-assed. The "albums" you create via the iPad from the Camera Roll are not true folders. Rather, they are simply lists of photos in the Camera Roll. When you view the album you're just looking at a filtered list of photos in the Camera Roll. (You'll notice, that you cannot delete a photo in the album you've created; you can only delete from the "master" set in the Camera Roll.) Thus, if you try to delete the "original" (though it's not the "original;" it's the only one) the iPad asks whether you want to delete it from all albums in which it sits. But of course it's not in the other "albums" since the other "albums" are not sets of individual photos; they're simply filtered lists of photos in the Camera Roll.

    So this brings us back to what you can do. The only option is the approach used before iOS 5.0. Sync your photos to your computer. Find where they are located. Create a new folder and copy the photos you want in a new album to that folder. Sync with your iPad again and make sure you include the new folder(s) you've created on your computer. Now you can delete the "original" in the Camera Roll without affecting the copy you made and placed in another folder/album on your computer.

    Aren't you glad you're using an Apple product that "just works?" :)
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2011
  4. giradman
    Offline

    giradman iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,475
    Thanks Received:
    805
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +867 / 0
    Hello and welcome to the forum! :)

    I'd suggest some clarification, e.g. 'what is the 'original album', i.e. your 'Camera Roll', one created in the 'Photo App', or one sync from your computer - really makes a difference. Images in the 'Camera Roll' can be deleted via the iPad, however, if you have copied one or more into another folder created via the app, then only a 'link' is setup between the two images (the photo is NOT duplicated, just saves memory) - a single photo is easily deleted if it only represents a 'link' - however, if you delete the photo from the camera roll, the link(s) to this image in another folder(s) will also disappear; also, 'links' in created folders can be deleted individually.

    Now this does not address photos that you have sync from the computer - please let us know if the above helps w/ your issue or whether you are attempting another maneuver - good luck!

    P.S. sorry jsh1120 - we were composing our responses at the same time! :eek: Dave
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2011
  5. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,293
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington USA
    Ratings:
    +87 / 0
    No problem, Dave. You were more succinct than I. Probably because you didn't include an annoyed rant in your explanation. :)

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can you delete a photo from one album and keep it in another on the ipad
,

delete photo on iad but not everwhere

,

hoq do delete from one album but not another in i phone phoros

,
how do i remove pictures from my camera roll and not everywhere
,
how do you delete a picture on your ipod without deleting it everywhere else
,

how to delete a photo in only one album

,
how to delete a picture from one album but not another
,
how to delete one photo what is the difference in an ipad and a tablet
,

how to delete photos from iphone 4 but not everywhere

,

how to delete photos from one album but not the other

,

how to delete photos from only one album on ipad

,
how to delete pictures in photo album on ipad without deleting it everywhere
,

i phone deleting photo deleting photos from ipad camera roll but not everywhere

,
if i erase pictures on my phone, does it erase then everywhere?
,
if you delete photos on i phone camera roll does it etase them everywhere
,

ipad delete everywhere

,
ipad when i delete a picture it delets from my album
,

phone only deletes all photos not just one

,
what photo files can i delete on my ioad without deleting everywhere
,
when deleting photos on iphone do you want to delete everywhere