Brand New Ipad non functional

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by addkerr, Dec 25, 2010.

  1. addkerr
    Offline

    addkerr iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kendal
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi there

    If you could help me that would be great. Just received an Ipad 32gb wifi+3G. Out of the box the Ipad says to connect to itunes, this is where the problem starts. I have the latest itunes version and also usb 2.0, the Ipad will not connect to the pc. The pc doesn't even know it is there. I have also tried on another pc with same affect. After, I also tried to connect to charge via the socket. This also didn't work. The ipad didn't even recognise it was plugged in. After this I restarted the thing both from cold and running, and no joy.

    Any help before I take it back to the shop with an angry face.

    thanks
    Adam
  2. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Okay ~ Adam. I am not as good at this as most, but I will try.

    What version iTunes do you have?

    Is your iPad charged?

    What computer are you using?

    Does your iPad come on at all?
  3. Blackbelt
    Offline

    Blackbelt iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    335
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palm Beaches
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Try itune on a Mac instead of a PC.
  4. addkerr
    Offline

    addkerr iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kendal
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Im using windows vista on a Toshiba laptop. But also tried on brand new touch screen laptop (not mine so dont know make). running itunes 10.1.1

    The ipad turns on and tells me to connect to itunes. But this is where I cant do this and nothing happens. The ipad stays on that screen telling me to connect to itunes.

    i sadly don't have the luxury of a mac to connect to sorry
  5. Blackbelt
    Offline

    Blackbelt iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    335
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palm Beaches
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Perhaps , you can visit an apple store and they can trouble shoot the issue for you. It sounds like a connection issue to me. You can also call apple care at 1-800-275-2273.
  6. Gunny008
    Offline

    Gunny008 iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Is your toshiba laptop running iTunes 10.1.1?

    Best ring the apple helpline number- which should be in the iPad manual somewhere, they should be able to sort it out for you.
  7. BrennB
    Offline

    BrennB iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Kill any firewalls and open itunes before plugging in ipad.make sure you use the cable that came with it not one from ipod. Wiggle? Just ideas

    Sent from my Galaxy S using Tapatalk
  8. xune
    Offline

    xune iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Free personal setup at every Apple store

    Addker-

    First off, congratulations on your iPad! You're gonna love it, so just hang in there :)

    Each and every Apple store offers free personal set up! If you are near an Apple store, I would swing into one. No appt needed, however, I would recommend going in as early as possible, as it's sure to be incredibly busy the day after Christmas.

    [​IMG]

    You could also make an appt. for an ipad workshop by going to apple.com and typing "stores" in the search field in the upper right corner; enter your zip code, and click on the store nearest you to make an appt.

    Either way, I'd suggest calling Apple (try 1 800 MY APPLE), or visit Apple - Support and then click on the iPad link, or visit your nearest best buy, as most have Apple kiosks inside of them. At the very least best buys have macs in their stores, and could activate it for you. Should only take a minute or two at the most, but a free personal setup at an Apple store would be your best bet.. I'd get one still even if you got yours to sync with iTunes, especially if this is your first iPad.

    Here's an article quoted from a best buy forum regarding Apple's free iPad personal setup:

    Last edited: Dec 25, 2010
  9. addkerr
    Offline

    addkerr iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kendal
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Well after a while in the shop Im now getting a new one sent to me. Should be here Friday so all is good. Thanks for the suggestions, but the problem seemed to be that it just wasn't working. somebody messed up in the factory.

    Cheers
  10. peled
    Offline

    peled iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    890
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Made in China :D:confused:

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
brand new ipad 4 not responding
,
brand new ipad just shows connect to itunes
,
brand new ipad won't come on right out of the box
,

brand new ipad won't turn on

,
no screen on brand new ipad says ipad finished