What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Adding Words to 'Pages' internal dictionary

doctorbenny

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi All,

I am relatively new to Pages. While it works relatively well, my biggest issue is with its pre-programmed dictionary. In short: it's limited. Is there a way to add words (or alternative spellings) to the internal dictionary? Is there access to the ipads available internal dictionary? It is frustrating having a document filled with red lines warranted by properly spelled but unrecognized words while those words that are misspelled are overlooked as another one of those unknown words.

Any help is appreciated.

Tim SPRACKLEN

iPF Noob
Reaction score
There is good news and bad news.

Bad news first - can you add words to Pages/iPad's internal dictionary? - No!

Now the good news - is there a workaround? - Yes!!

Another Member noted that the iPad does not flag as a spelling mistake the names of contacts in the iPad's Contacts app.

So he suggested adding special words - say business or technical terms etc - that the iPad keep flagging as spelling mistakes as 'spoof' entries in Contacts. It works just fine and many Members use this as a good workaround.

Tim

OP
D

doctorbenny

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Brilliant! THANK YOU! While this is a hassle, it certainly works and helps to rid me of my red underlining headache!

A word for those who do the same thing: be sure to re-start your pages in order for the changes to take place. That is, if you add text into your contacts list don't expect the words to be read as spelled properly until you close and re-start your pages app.