What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Writing text documents/emails with formatting on an iPad

AlexDonohue

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hello all,

A complete iPad newbie here, but I've been given one by work in order to work efficiently on the move. Part of my work involves writing press releases and distributing them via googlemail, either on a dedicated email app, or via safari.

My big problem is that i can't format text in anyway. I need to be able to underline, bold, and change font sizes. I did manage to do this on 'pages' but then every time i copied and pasted the text into the email client all formatting was removed.

Can anyoen think of a solution? I need the text to keep its format when pasted into the email client, or be written in the client with the formatting controls? If I write emails through a computer there are the usual buttons in the client to bold, underline etc.

Happy to buy any apps...is there a 'wordpad' type app?

Thanks

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
In iOS 5 you can do some formatting in the email. You select the text you want to change by tap-hold then drag the handles to include what you want. The popup menu has a button to the right that will give you some options, including some rtf controls (but not font size).

The Evernote app has more RTF options, and you can mail notes. In my tests the text goes into the body of the email, and looks good. But again, there is no way to set the text size. At least not on the iPad app. You can do so from the computer app.