What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

wifi connection

sswf224

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi all - I am a complete newbie so please be gentle.

I have just bought a ipad 3 (not 3G) and would to know the best way get Internet access.

This will be on apartment complex in Turkey where there is no wi-fi.

Can a router be hired ?

There are of course loads of bars where there is wifi.

the thing that puzzles me is that I know a wifi dongle can be hired by the week - but the ipad has no USB slot.

I have seen a little connecter - ipad at one end and USB (female) at the other so could I put the dongle in there ?

Many thanks

Midranger4

iPF Noob
Reaction score
sswf224 said:
Hi all - I am a complete newbie so please be gentle.

I have just bought a ipad 3 (not 3G) and would to know the best way get Internet access.

Can a router be hired ?

the thing that puzzles me is that I know a wifi dongle can be hired by the week - but the ipad has no USB slot.

I have seen a little connecter - ipad at one end and USB (female) at the other so could I put the dongle in there ?

Many thanks

You will need to access wirelessly. There is no adapter to hard wire the iPad into an Ethernet connection.

You say the apartment complex has no wifi. Are there internet service providers in your area that might provide you service? I know of a provider her in the US (Clear) that is a monthly service that provides you a wireless router with internet access.

Their routers use 3G (cellular signal) as the conduit to the internet so you only need cellular service available where you are located for a service like this to function.

giradman

iPad Fan
Reaction score
Can a router be hired ?